TCNJ History

Title: Faculty Dames, 1965-1992

Abstract:  The Trenton State Faculty Dames collection includes materials documenting the fundraising and campus beautification efforts of this social group. Also in the collection are materials on meetings, programs, and social events. Membership included wives of faculty, female faculty, and other women affiliated with the college.

Language: English

Extent: 1.0 box

Processing Information Note

Processed by Pam Haggerty, Spring 1997

The Trenton State Faculty Dames originated in 1931 when a small group of faculty wives formed a social group. By 1956, formal guidelines started to develop, such as, board meetings, budgets, and committees. The first handbook appeared in 1957, and a Constitution and By-laws were adopted in 1959.

Membership included faculty wives, women faculty, and other women affiliated with the college administration. The two main goals of the Trenton State Faculty Dames were to acquaint its members with the College and to contribute to the College community. They contributed to the College by raising money through refreshment stands, white elephant sales and auctions to aid foreign students, giving books to the library, and helping send a soccer team to a National Tournament. They also played important roles in campus beautification efforts and welcoming exchange faculty and students.

Social events included evening meetings and programs, social affairs for husbands and wives, theater trips, a holiday party for faculty children, and a spring luncheon. There were numerous interest groups, which involved members in community service, learning, and recreation.

Constitutions and Amendments: The Trenton State Faculty Dames first adopted a constitution in 1959. This file contains revised constitutions dated 1966, 1972, and 1983, as well as proposed amendments.

History and Membership: This file contains a brief history of the Trenton State Faculty Dames from 1973; History of Campus Beautification dated 1975; and a list of officers, committee chairs, and position descriptions for the 1972-1973 academic year. Other items include newspaper clippings and announcements from 1965-1981 describing Faculty Dames' social events, elections of officers, and an obituary of Dame's co-founder Vera Fromm.

Handbooks 1961-1992 (incomplete): The Trenton State College Faculty Dames published handbooks at the beginning of each academic year. The handbooks from 1961-1964 list officers, committee chairs, and upcoming events. The handbooks from 1965-1987 list officers, committee chairs, upcoming events, a member directory.

Annual Reports 1961-1993 (incomplete): Reports from the president, vice-president, corresponding secretary, program chairs, and hospitality committee are contained in this file. Most of the reports are annual summaries. Most academic years contain a president's report, which summarizes all events and gives suggestions to the next president.

Budgets 1961-1992 (incomplete): This file contains proposed budgets for the Trenton State Faculty Dames. The majority are proposed budgets, which list income from the balance of the previous year, and membership dues and projected expenses for the activities planned for the academic year.

Minutes, Agendas,  and Program Plans 1964-1991 (incomplete): Most of the minutes and agendas are for executive board meetings, although there are a few for general meetings. Program plans list all the planned events for the academic year.

Correspondence 1961-1987 (incomplete): This file contains thank you letters from the College and other associations to the Trenton State Faculty Dames for either contributions or service. Of note are a 1984 Certificate from the Alumni Association, which recognizes the purchase of 5 shares of the Alumni Entrance Gate, and a 1986 program from the dedication of the sundial.

List of Members 1963-1990 (incomplete): There are lists of active members and new members. For some years, there are lists of new faculty.

The collection is arranged chronologically by academic year.