TCNJ History

Title: Alumni Photographs, 1936-1987

Creator: The College of New Jersey

Abstract:  The Alumni Photographs Collection contains photographs of The College of New Jersey alumni. The items in the collection were taken at alumni events on the Ewing (formerly Hillwood Lakes) campus beginning in 1936. Social events included evening meetings and programs, gatherings of spouses, theater trips, a holiday party for faculty children, and a spring luncheon. There were numerous interest groups, which involved members in community service, education, and recreation.

Arrangement note: This collection is arranged into four series:

Series 1: Reunions
Series 2: Alumni Citation Winners
Series 3: Children of Alumni

Extent: 2.0 boxes, 2 linear feet

Language: English

Processing Information Note

Processed by: Brenda Cohen, 1997-1998

Series 1: Reunions

This series is arranged by subject and date. Several pictures in the collection, taken at the alumni gathering in May 1936, include Mrs. Helen Budd Gibby of the class of 1858, the first graduating class of The College of New Jersey. The series also contains overviews of reunion dinners from 1945, 1946, and 1947.

Series 2: Alumni Citation Winners

This series contains photographs of Alumni Citation Winners and is arranged chronologically. Between 1941-1946 the collection contains winners with their citations.

Series 3: Children of Alumni

This series of photographs are of students at The College of New Jersey who also are children of alumni.