TCNJ History

Title: Faculty, Administration, Board of Trustees, and Faculty Dames Photograph Collection

Abstract: The Faculty, Administration, Board of Trustees, and Faculty Dames Photograph Collection contains photographs of faculty, staff, teachers at the Model and demonstration schools, principals and presidents, Board of Trustees members, and spouses. While the preponderance of the collection is post World War II, there are pictures that predate 1940 and a few that were taken in the 19th century. There are more than 550 pictures in the collection.

Arrangement Note: The Faculty, Administration, Board of Trustees Picture Photographic Collection is arranged in six series:

Series 1: Principals and Presidents of TCNJ from 1855 to the Present

Series 2: Teachers at Lanning School (Demonstration School), 1936-1937

Series 3: Individual Photos of Faculty and Administrators

Series 4: Group Photos of Faculty and Administrators

Series 5: Board of Trustees, 1968-1969

Series 6: Faculty Dames

Language: English

Extent: 4.0 boxes; 6 linear feet.

Processing Information Note

Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Winter 1996,Winter 1997, Winter 1998, Fall 1998, Spring 2000

Series 1: Principals and Presidents of TCNJ from 1855 to the Present

This series contains over 90 photographs arranged alphabetically. The image include five composite photographs of the seven principals from 1855 to 1930: William F. Phelps (1855-1864), John S. Hart (1864-1871), Lewis M. Johnson (1871-1876), Washington Hasbrouck (1876-1889), James M. Green (1889-1917), Jerohn J. Savitz (1917­-1923), Don C. Bliss (1923-1930).

Series 2: Teachers at Lanning School (Demonstration School), 1936-1937

This series contains photographs of teachers at the Lanning School (a local demonstration school), for the academic year 1936-1937.

Series 3: Individual Photos of Faculty and Administrators

The more than 300 pictures in this series are arranged alphabetically into 22 files. While the preponderance of photographs were created after World War II, there are some earlier images in the collection. These include Rachel Jarrold, chairperson of the History Department from 1924 to 1947 and co-author of "Time the Great Teacher," and Dr. Levi Seeley, of the Education Department from 1895 to 1918. Additionally, some photos were created prior to 1900, including those of Sara Y. Ely who was Supervisor in Grammar and Instructor in Mathematics at the Model School and Austin C. Apgar, Professor of Mathematics and Geography and Vice­ Principal in Natural Sciences at the Normal School.

Series 4: Group Photos of Faculty and Administrators

This series of more than 30 photographs contains images of faculty members, administrators, and/or members of the Board of Trustees. Photographs include the book signing for Clarice Freinmans' book, Women in the Criminal Justice System; a group photo of college presidents Clayton Brower, Warren Hill, and Edwin Martin; the dedication of the Brower Student Center with President Clayton R. Brower; a faculty photo from the 1920s; and a picture taken in 1902 with Dr. James Green (president 1889-1907), Sara Ely, Alice Brewster, and other faculty members; and Mary Blackwell Moore (Model School class of 1902).

Series 5: Board of Trustees, 1968-1969

This series of Board members comprises seven photographs from May 1968 and June 1969.

Series 6: Faculty Dames

The photographs in this series were taken at meetings of the Faculty Dames, a social organization (begun in 1931) of faculty wives, female faculty, and other women affiliated with the college, administration, and demonstration schools. Some events included spouses and significant others. The pictures were taken in the 1980s and 1990s at Fall Welcoming Receptions, Spring Luncheons, a Valentine’s Day Party, and at a meeting of the Travel Group.