TCNJ History

Title: Academic Affairs, Office of, 1965-2005

Creator: Academic Affairs, Office of  (1967-present)

Abstract: The Office of Academic Affairs began in the 1969-1970 academic year and is the central academic office of the college. It is responsible for matters relating to faculty, curriculum, policy, and overall academic direction.

Arrangement Note: The collection is arranged into eight series:

Series 1: Academic Calendars
Series 2: Journal of Student Scholarship
Series 3: Research Domain @ TCNJ
Series 4: Undergraduate & Graduate Schedules of Classes
Series 5: Administrative Manuals
Series 6: Faculty Handbooks
Series 7: Handbooks for Chairpersons
Series 8: Documents on Cooperative Education

Extent: 3 boxes, 1.5 linear feet.

Series 1: Academic Calendars, 1988-2005

The Academic Calendar presents the schedule for the current calendar year, listing such items as opening day, holidays, quarter breaks, reading days, exam days, residence hall closing, and commencement. In some cases, it also may include the succeeding academic year calendar.

Series 2: Journal of Student Scholarship, 1998-2005

Published once a year at the end of the spring semester, this journal is a scholarly student publication, which provides a venue for sharing student ideas and works. The journal is the outcome of independent study projects, internships, senior culminating experiences, honors theses, and typical college courses that are faculty reviewed. This periodical represents scholarly and creative work including areas of empirical investigations, literary analysis and criticism, historical commentary, and philosophical theory.

Series 3: Research Domain at TCNJ, 2002

This journal provides a view into some of the research and interests of the faculty at TCNJ. It lists only individuals with at least two published, refereed articles during the previous six years in a particular research area(s), one or more published book(s) within the last six years, or currently sponsored research by an external agency.

Series 4: Undergraduate and Graduate Schedules of Classes, 1996

These schedules provide the name, number, and teaching staff of each of the classes as well as the days and times the classes meet. The schedule also states the credit hours each course is worth and some information on requirements for the major and degree.

Series 5: Administrative Manuals, 1965-1967

This series contains two manuals dated 1965-1966 and 1966-1967. They include a calendar for the academic year, a chart illustrating the administrative chain of command, policies and procedures in general and for the faculty, instructional information, and material on student personnel services, faculty advisement and committees. For additional Administrative Manuals (1939-1968) see the Handbooks and Manuals Collection.

Series 6: Faculty Handbooks, 1967-1985

The Faculty Handbooks, in general, contained the same information as Administrative Handbooks. They also included topics such as food, health, mail, parking, and library services; an ethics statement; map of the campus; and, in 1972, the faculty contract. For additional Faculty Handbooks (1967-1985) see the Handbooks and Manuals Collection.

Series 7: Handbook for Faculty Chairpersons, 1977-1985

This series of booklets includes a college organizational chart; academic calendar; material on affirmative action; departmental budget; coadjutant faculty; overload, course and program approval; information about the library; promotions; reappointments; released time for research; the salary scale; summer session; assistance directory; and other material needed by the chairperson.

Series 8: Documents on Cooperative Education, 1989-1991

The files in this series contain studies, reports, and related material about the cooperative education program at The College of New Jersey.

Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Spring 2001, Fall 2002, Spring 2003