TCNJ History

Title: Newsletters, 1959-1997

Abstract: This collection contains various campus newsletters from different organizations and clubs. The newsletters range in date over several decades and contain now-defunct clubs. They were targeted to TCNJ students and alumni.

Language: English

Extent: 1 linear foot, 2.0 boxes

The collection is divided into the following 23 series:

Series 1: Scrap Paper, 1970-1971, was published semi-weekly by the Student Committee for Radical and Activist Policies.

Series 2: Fish Wrapper, 1972, contains articles, poems, and drawings that focused on societal issues such as war and racism.

Series 3: The Hairy, 1972, contains campus events, news, articles, and drawings.

Series 4: Aukword, 1981,1988, was an exchange network for teaching writing. It contains stories, poems, and exchanges from various colleges.

Series 5: Campus Life Newsletter, 1985, was published by the Office of Campus Life. It contains campus news, events, and calendars.

Series 6: Co-op Newsline, 1984-1985, contains stories about employment and offers career advice.

Series 7: Cub Talk, 1963, was a newsletter solely devoted to freshman. The class of 1963 was the inaugural issue.

Series 8: Department of Business Newsletter, 1971-1978, contains articles, pictures, and campus news related to the business department. It was published biannually.

Series 9: Focus, 1972-1976, is a message from the Dean of Students to the campus community about campus events and controversies.

Series 10: Graduate Division Newsletter, 1986, contains bulletin boards, messages from faculty, and graduate news.

Series 11: Human Life, 1974-1976,  was the newsletter of the Pro-Life Committee. This small students group's purpose was to inform the campus community about pro-life issues.

Series 12: Industrial Arts News, 1959-1961, 1968-1972, was published quarterly. It contains news, events, photos, and stories related to this field. In 1968, issues were renamed TSC Industrial Education and Technology Newsletter.

Series 13: Information Services Newsletter, 1986-1989, was published every six months. It contains computing information for the campus. Later editions were renamed The Monitor and TSC Information Management News.

Series 14: Music Newsletter, 1960-1967, contains music events and introduces the new music building plans of 1961.

Series 15: Nursing News was published one to two times annually for alumni and nursing students.

Series 16: Sam-o-Gram, 1979, was the monthly newsletter for the Management Club. It was published by the Society for Advancement of Management at TSC.

Series 17: Speech Department Newsletter, 1960-1961, contains news and events for the speech department.

Series 18: Time Line, 1974-1975, was published by the Adult Education Policy and Development Center.

Series 19: TSC Teacher Corps, 1978-1979, was subtitled "An In-Service Model" and contained practical information for teaching students. It was published in the Winter and Spring by the TSC Teacher Corps Project.

Series 20: Women's Center Bulletin, 1975, 1977, promoted awareness of women's issues, recruited new members, and spotlighted networking. Some editions are named Women's Caucus.

Series 21: Woman News/Woman's Studies Newsletter, 1980-1997, was published by the Office of Women. This monthly newsletter was "designed to inform the campus community of programs, publications, speakers, and courses for women." Later editions were renamed Women's Studies Newsletter.

Series 22: Miscellaneous Newsletters contains various departmental newsletters of differing dates. Some examples include Equity Exchange, The Collegebound Post, and The Grass.

Series 23: Tech-NJ, 1990-1991, published by the Department of Special Education, the newsletter spotlighted computer-enabled programs for disabled people, assistive devices, resources, and user profiles, among other stories.