Title: College Life and Events Photograph Collection
Abstract: The College Life and Events Photograph Collection contains images on activities including resident life, classes, art on campus, and special events at TCNJ. While the preponderance of the collection dates from after World War II, there are many photographs from the early part of the 20th century and some from the 19th century. There are more than 1,300 photographs in this collection.
Arrangement Note: The College Life and Events Photographic Collection is arranged in six series:
Series 1: Arts, Music, and Theater
Series 2: Classroom and Academic Life
Series 3: Special Events
Series 4: Student Life
Series 5: Dining Services
Series 6: Visitors
Language: English
Extent: 10.0 oversized boxes; 6 linear feet
Processing Information Note
Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Winter 1996, Winter, 1997, Fall 1998, Spring 2000, Fall 2000, Winter 2001
Series 1: Arts
This series is arranged alphabetically. It contains photographs of displays of fine arts on campus and works produced by students and faculty, as well as musical and theatrical productions, most of which are student productions. Among the unique photographs is the mural in the Roscoe L. West Library, painted by Richard Blossom Farley and student theatrical productions dating from the mid 1920s that are in the Theater, Student Drama Productions to 1940 folder.
Additional photographs of the art gallery in Holman Hall may be found in the Buildings and Campus Photographic Collection.
Student theater productions are arranged according to presentation date on campus, if known. The photographs include both back stage activities and performances.
Series 2: Classroom and Academic Studies
This series, arranged alphabetically by academic major or department, contains photographs of students and faculty engaged in academic studies in such places as classrooms, laboratories, lecture halls, seminars rooms, laboratories, lecture halls, seminars, music practice rooms, the old and the new wings of the West Library, and outdoor settings on campus. Most of these photographs are informal.
While most photographs date from the 1940 to the present there are some from the 1920s and 1930s, which include a physical education classes of 1920-1922.
Series 3: Special Events
The photographs in this series, arranged alphabetically by subject, involve special events that have taken place on the college campus or that concern The College of New Jersey. These may be unique events such as commemorations of students who were killed in World War II, the bus accident on October 9, 1959 that killed 12 people from the college, and the centennial celebrations of the college in 1956. Other events included in this series include annual events such as commencement and writers conferences.
Most photographs date from 1940 through the present. However, earlier events include Armistice Day Parade in 1918, which can be found in the Holidays folder.
Series 4: Student Life
Arranged alphabetically by subject, this series of formal and informal photographs show different aspects of student life in a variety of locations. Places include the dormitories, around campus, at work, and on college trips including trips to Camp Macressav in the 1920s, a popular retreat. Camp Macressav is composed of the names of three people associated with the Normal School: Faculty members Miss Macpherson, Miss Cressman, and Principal Dr. Savitz.
Series 5: Dining Services
This small series of 26 photographs, taken after 1940, includes cooks and service people, faculty eating in the Faculty Dining Room in Phelps Hall, students eating at several dining facilities on campus, and menu boards with price listings.
Series 6: Visitors
Represented in this series of photographs are visitors to the college including Millicent Fenwick, Isaac Asimov, and several governors of New Jersey. Other photographs of visitors to the college may be found in the Faculty, Administrators, and Board of Trustees Photographic Collection and Special Events in College Life and Special Events Photographic Collection.
|
BOX |
FILE |
DESCRIPTION |
PHOTO I.D. |
NO. PHOTOS |
|
1 |
1 |
Artwork on campus |
CL1.1-CL1.5, CL1.187, CL1.88-CL1.91, CL1.190, CL1.196-CL1.200 |
13 |
|
1 |
2 |
Art shows |
CL1.6-CL1.9 |
4 |
|
1 |
3 |
Music, instrumentals |
CL1.10-CL1.47 |
38 |
|
1 |
4 |
Music, vocal |
CL1.48-CL1.58 |
11 |
|
1 |
5 |
Theater, guest performances |
CL1.59-CL1.64 |
6 |
|
1 |
6 |
Theater, student drama productions, up to 1940 |
CL1.65-CL1.77, CL1.192-CL1.195 |
17 |
|
1 |
7 |
Theater, student drama productions, 1941-1943 |
CL1.78-CL1.105 |
28 |
|
2 |
1 |
Theater, student drama productions, 1944-1950 |
CL1.106-CL1.127 |
22 |
|
2 |
2 |
Theater, student drama productions, 1951-present |
CL.1.128-CL1.134, CL1.159, CL1.163, CL1.178-CL1.180 |
12 |
|
2 |
3 |
Theater, student drama Productions, undated |
CL1.135-CL1.158, CL1.160-CL1.162, CL1.164-CL1.177, CL1.181-CL1.86 |
47 |
|
2 |
4 |
Art |
CL2.1-CL2.23 |
23 |
|
7SL |
1 |
Art |
CL2.368SL-CL2.372SL |
5 |
|
2 |
5 |
Biology |
CL2.24-CL2.45, CL2.218-CL2.223, CL2.400 |
29 |
|
7SL |
2 |
Biology |
CL2.373SL-CL2.375SL |
3 |
|
2 |
6 |
Business |
CL2.46-CL2.47 |
2 |
|
2 |
7 |
CHANCE |
CL2.61-CL2.63 |
3 |
|
2 |
8 |
Chemistry |
CL2.48-CL2.60, CL2.224-CL2.229 |
19 |
|
7SL |
3 |
Chemistry |
CL2.376SL-CL2.377SL |
2 |
|
3 |
1 |
Communications |
CL2.64-CL2.66 |
3 |
|
7SL |
4 |
Communications, TV Station |
CL2.383SL-SL2.384SL |
2 |
|
3 |
2 |
Computer Lab |
CL2.67-CL2.69, CL2.378SL-CL2.379SL |
6 |
|
7SL |
5 |
Computer Lab |
CL2.378SL-CL2.379SL |
2 |
|
3 |
3 |
Driver Education |
CL2.70-CL2.72 |
3 |
|
3 |
4 |
English |
CL2.71 |
1 |
|
3 |
5 |
Engineering/Industrial Arts |
CL2.74-CL2.118 |
46 |
|
7SL |
6 |
Engineering/Industrial Arts |
CL2.380SL-CL2.38SL |
2 |
|
3 |
6 |
General |
CL2.119-CL2.143, CL2.388 |
26 |
|
7SL |
7 |
General |
CL2.382SL |
1 |
|
3 |
7 |
Geology |
CL2.144-CL2.145 |
2 |
|
3 |
8 |
Bookstore |
CL2.401 |
1 |
|
3 |
9 |
Library, 1930-1959 |
CL2.146-CL2.147, CL2.151-CL2.161, CL2.164-CL2.168, CL2.169-CL2.172, CL2.173, CL2.175, CL2.178, CL2.170-CL2.181, CL2.361 |
23 |
|
3 |
10 |
Library, 1960-1979 |
CL2.148-CL2.150, CL2.163, CL2.165-CL2.167, CL2.170-CL2.171, CL2.182-CL2.183, CL2.395 |
12 |
|
3 |
11 |
Library, 1980-1989 |
CL2.162, CL2.174, CL2.176-CL2.177, CL2.179, CL2.184, CL2.319-CL2.324, CL2.327-CL2.329, CL2.341-CL2.354, CL2.356, CL2.389-CL2.392, CL2.360 |
30 |
|
3 |
12 |
Library, 1990-1999 |
CL2.325-CL2.326, CL2.330-CL2.340, CL2.345-CL2.349, CL2.655, CL2.357-CL2.359, CL2.185 |
22 |
|
3 |
13 |
Library, 2000 |
CL2.397 |
1 |
|
3 |
14 |
Math |
CL2.362-CL2.363 |
2 |
|
3 |
15 |
Media |
CL2.186-CL2.192, CL2.364-CL2.367, CL2.393 |
12 |
|
3 |
16 |
Modern languages |
CL2.193 |
1 |
|
3 |
17 |
Music |
CL2.194-CL2.198, CL2.394, CL2.398-CL2.399 |
8 |
|
4 |
1 |
Nursing |
CL2.199-CL2.207 |
9 |
|
4 |
2 |
Physical Education |
CL2.208-CL2.213 |
6 |
|
4 |
3 |
Physics |
CL2.214-CL2.216 |
3 |
|
4 |
4 |
Science, general |
CL2.230-CL2.238 |
9 |
|
4 |
5 |
Social Science |
CL2.239-CL2.246 |
8 |
|
4 |
6 |
Student Teaching I |
CL2.247-CL2.280 |
34 |
|
4 |
7 |
Student Teaching II |
CL2.281-CL2.315 |
35 |
|
4 |
8 |
Weather |
CL2.316-CL2.318 |
3 |
|
5 |
1 |
Bus accident, student portraits, 1959 |
CL3.1-CL3.11 |
11 |
|
5 |
2 |
Centennial Celebration I, 1956 |
CL3.12-CL3.36 |
25 |
|
5 |
3 |
Centennial Celebration II, 1956 |
CL3.37-CL3.62 |
27 |
|
6 |
1 |
Computer Festival |
CL3.63-CL3.64 |
2 |
|
7 |
2 |
Commencement |
CL3.65-CL3.77, CL3.257 |
14 |
|
7SL |
8 |
Commencement |
CL3.247SL-CL3.252SL |
6 |
|
6 |
3 |
Convocation, 1956-1995 |
CL3.78-CL3.85 |
8 |
|
7SL |
9 |
Convocation, 1990s |
CL3.25SL-CL3.254SL |
2 |
|
6 |
4 |
Family Days/Parent Days |
CL3.86-CL3.101 |
16 |
|
7SL |
10 |
Family Fest |
CL3.255SL-CL3.256SL |
2 |
|
6 |
5 |
Holidays |
CL3.102-CL3.145, CL3.242, CL3.284 |
46 |
|
6 |
6 |
Inauguration of President Edwin L. Martin, 1958 |
CL3.146-CL3.158 |
13 |
|
7 |
1 |
Library, general |
CL3.187-CL3.189 |
3 |
|
7 |
2 |
Library, Donor’s Tea, 1967 |
CL3.90-CL3.192 |
3 |
|
7 |
3 |
Library, dedication of the Doris M. Perry Historical Textbook Collection |
CL3.243-CL3.246, CL3.159-CL3.160 |
7 |
|
7 |
4 |
Library, Richard Matthews Retirement Reception, 1991 |
CL3.162-CL3.186 |
25 |
|
7 |
5 |
Library, Spring Day 2000 exhibit |
CL3.258-CL3.283 |
26 |
|
7 |
6 |
Literary readings |
CL3.193-CL3.194 |
2 |
|
7 |
7 |
Meetings, conferences, luncheons, and dinners |
CL3.195-CL3.207 |
13 |
|
7 |
8 |
Picnics, garden parties, and Sport Day |
CL3.208-CL3.216, CL3.241 |
10 |
|
7 |
9 |
Strikes and demonstrations |
CL3.214-CL3.220 |
4 |
|
7 |
10 |
WW II students killed |
CL3.221-CL3.233 |
13 |
|
7 |
11 |
Writers conferences |
CL3.234-CL3.239 |
6 |
|
8 |
1 |
Dances |
CL4.1-CL4.19, CL4.312 |
20 |
|
7SL |
11 |
Dances |
CL4.291SL-CL4.292SL |
2 |
|
8 |
2 |
Freshman hazing |
CL4.20-CL4.26 |
7 |
|
8 |
3 |
Dorm life |
CL4.27-CL4.66, CL4.301-CL4.305 |
45 |
|
7SL |
12 |
Dorm life |
CL4.293SL-CL4.295CL |
3 |
|
9 |
1 |
General, indoors |
CL4.67-CL4.107, CL4.296-CL4.297 |
43 |
|
9 |
2 |
General, outdoors |
CL4.108-CL4.141, CL4.306-CL4.307 |
36 |
|
9 |
3 |
General, outdoors |
CL4.142-CL4.174, CL4.310-CL4.311, CL4.313 |
36 |
|
9 |
4 |
Student portraits, A-L |
CL4.175-CL4.209, CL4.291 |
36 |
|
9 |
5 |
Student portraits, M-Z |
CL4.210-CL4.235 |
26 |
|
10 |
1 |
Registration |
CL4.236-CL4.240, CL4.298-CL4.300 |
8 |
|
10 |
2 |
Research, studying, exams |
CL4.241-CL4.282 |
42 |
|
10 |
3 |
Excursions |
CL4.283-CL4.290, CL4.308-CL4.309 |
10 |
|
10 |
4 |
Students, faculty, staff, dining services |
CL5.1-CL5.27, CL5.31 |
28 |
|
7SL |
13 |
Brower Student Center Commons |
CL5.27SL-CL5.30SL |
4 |
|
10 |
5 |
TCNJ visitors |
CL6.1-CL6.47 |
47 |
|
11OS |
1 |
Theater, student drama productions |
CL7.1OS-CL7.2OS |
2 |
|
11OS |
2 |
Music, instrumental |
CL7.3OS |
1 |
|
11OS |
3 |
Industrial Arts |
CL7.4OS |
1 |
|
11OS |
4 |
Commencement |
CL7.5OS |
1 |