Title: Scrapbooks, Diaries, and Notebooks Collection, 1855-1922
Extent: 13.0 boxes
Abstract: The collection contains mainly scrapbooks and diaries from alumni as well as the college.
Language: English
Bush, Lucile, Class of 1941; Scrapbook 1937-1941
This scrapbook contains programs, mementos, dance cards, sorority souvenirs, and more.
Charlesworth, Mildred Bard, Class of 1915; Scrapbook and diary, 1913-1915
Contains photo album and loose photos, the Seal 1915 yearbook, and a diploma and certificate from 1915.
Cooper, Edith Swan, Model School Class of 1910 and Normal School Class of 1914; Scrapbook “My Commencement,” 1910
This scrapbook is one of two examples of scrapbooks from the Model School, the teaching laboratory school associated with the Normal School on North Clinton Avenue. (See also Mary Lawrence.) The Model School closed in 1917. A feature article about this scrapbook appeared in the Autumn/Winter 2005 issue of TCNJ Magazine.
Ely, Sarah Y., Class of 1866; Scrapbook, 1937
Ely served the school for many years as a teacher and then as Head of the Girls’ Department of the Model School (47 years in total). She retired in 1913. This scrapbook contains many news clippings about her achievements, a program honoring her, and her obituary. It was not created by Ely.
Foster, Rosena, Class of 1910; Diary fragment, 1910 [transcript and photocopy of original only]
The original diary is held by the owner, the granddaughter of Rosena Foster. The owner supplied the Library with a transcript. However, many pages are missing.
Green, Lucile, Class of 1898; Scrapbook on her father James Green, 1892-1912
The scrapbook was a gift of Lucile Green (1879-1960) in March of 1940. It is comprised primarily of clippings and ephemera mainly from 1909 relating to her father, James Monroe Green (1851-1920), an early principal of the New Jersey State Normal School.
Kuestner, Alice, Class of 1940; Scrapbook 1936-1940
The scrapbook contains many photographs of the campus, faculty, classmates, and student activities.
Larison, Mary Jane Sergeant, Class of 1858-1859; Diary, 1855-1857
This extraordinary diary recounts the experiences of a member of the second graduating class of the New Jersey State Normal School. In addition to the original kept in the Archives, there are several circulating transcripts available on the 3rd floor [LD3780 .N79 A359].
Lawrence, Mary, Model School Class of 1911 and Normal School Class of 1913; Scrapbook, 1911
This scrapbook from the Model School contains many photos of the campus, teachers, and classmates.
Reed, Bernard A., Class of 1940; Scrapbook 1940
Dr. Reed became Director of Admissions in 1958 and retired in 1979.
Roberson, Horace, Class of 1881; Autograph Book, 1880
This book contains autographs and sometimes of poetry or advice from Roberson's friends and classmates.
Roberson, Samuel Arndt, Class of 1885; Herbarium, 1885, Autograph Book, 1885, and Elocution Notes, undated
Samuel was the brother of Horace Roberson. The donor, a grandson of Samuel's, describes the unbound Herbarium as “Lecture Notes.” However, the plant samples are only labeled in English and Latin with place and date of collection. There are no additional narrative notes. The autograph book is similar to Horace’s. The elocution notebook contains charts and examples of the pronunciation of vowels and consonants, as well as other elements of elocution.
Shivers, Anna, Class of 1920; Scrapbook, 1918-20
This scrapbook contains many labeled photographs of the campus and students as well as college songs, greeting cards, invitations, programs, and some commentary on college life. It ends with a telegram announcing a job offer and a teacher’s contract.
Unidentified Scrapbooks
c. 1905-1933. Mainly programs from concerts, plays, debates, and commencements.
c. 1931-1938. Many labeled 8”x10” photos of campus and buildings; also photos of a Lanning School pageant.
c. 1935-1942. Fragmentary scrapbook of campus photos and news clippings.
|
BOX |
DESCRIPTION |
DATE |
|
1 |
Mary Jane Sergeant Larison, Diary |
1855-1857 |
|
2 |
Sarah Y. Ely, Scrapbook |
1937 |
|
3 |
Horace Roberson, Autograph book |
1880 |
|
3 |
Samuel Arndt Roberson, Herbarium, Autograph book, and Elocution notes |
1885, undated |
|
5 |
Edith Cooper Johnson, Scrapbooks |
1910, 1914 |
|
6 |
Rosena Foster, Diary fragment |
1910 |
|
7 |
Mary Lawrence, Scrapbook |
1911 |
|
8 |
Mildred Bard Charlesworth, Scrapbook and diary |
1913-1915 |
|
9 |
Anna Shivers, Scrapbook |
1918-1920 |
|
10 |
Alice Kuestner, Scrapbook |
1936-1940 |
|
11 |
Bernard A. Reed, Scrapbook |
1940 |
|
12 |
Lucile Bush, Scrapbook |
1937-1941 |
|
15 |
Unidentified Scrapbooks |
1905-1942 |
| 16 | Lucile Green, Scrapbook | 1892-1912 |