Title: Glass (Lantern) Slides
Abstract: The Glass (Lantern) Slides collection contains 68 slides covering the topics of class pictures, faculty, presidents, campus, Lanning Demonstration School, students, alumni, events, music, and elementary education.
Arrangement note:
The Glass (Lantern) Slide Collection is arranged into 11 series:
Series 1: Class Pictures
Series 2: Faculty
Series 3: Presidents
Series 4: Clinton Avenue Campus
Series 5: Hillwood Campus
Series 6: Demonstration School
Series 7: Students
Series 8: Alumni
Series 9: Events
Series 10: Music
Series 11: Elementary Education
Language: English
Extent: 3.0 boxes; 1 linear foot
Processing Information Note
Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Fall 2000
Series 1: Class Pictures
This series comprises class pictures arranged chronologically. Contains 11 slides.
Series 2: Faculty
These slides of faculty are arranged in alphabetical order. Contains 10 slides.
Series 3: Presidents
This series of the college presidents are arranged according to the dates they served as president of the institution. Contains 8 slides.
Series 4: Clinton Avenue Campus
The slides of the Clinton Avenue Campus contain an artist rendering c.1857, a c.1900 view of the campus, and a tinted picture of the boarding halls. Interior views include the auditorium prior to 1909, the library, and the dining room. Contains 11 slides.
Series 5: Hillwood Campus, Library
This series of slides is of the library. There is an exterior view, an interior view with two students studying, and a picture of the mural, originally painted in 1909 for the Clinton Avenue Campus by Richard Blossom Farley. Contains 4 slides.
Series 6: Demonstration School
This series of slides is at the Lanning Demonstration School. Two of the slides are of teachers instructing students; one in a classroom the other in the auditorium. The third slide is of a display. Contains 3 slides.
Series 7: Students
This series of slides includes a group picture of the 1899 football or soccer team, an archery class c.1950, and a group of women students on campus. This last one is tinted. Contains 4 slides.
Series 8: Alumni
This series of slides includes an alumni reunion overview of diner in 1943 and alumni citations for 1940, 1941, and 1942. Contains 5 slides.
Series 9: Events
This series of slides shows two views of the Victory Parade of November 12, 1918. Contains 4 slides.
Series 10: Music
This series has slides of the New Jersey Loyalty song written by Samuel Frederic Monroe. Contains 2 slides.
Series 11: Elementary Education
This series consists of hand-made slides that were likely drawn and colored by students. Contains 10 slides.
|
BOX |
FILE |
DESCRIPTION |
PHOTO I.D. |
|
1 |
1 |
Class Pictures 1882 |
G1.1A, G1.2B, G1.1C |
|
1 |
2 |
Class Pictures 1900 |
G1.2 |
|
1 |
3 |
Class Pictures 1902 |
G1.3A, G1.3B, G1.3C |
|
1 |
4 |
Class Pictures June 1913 |
G1.4A, G1.4B, G1.4C |
|
1 |
5 |
Class Pictures (Undated) |
G1.5 |
|
1 |
6 |
Austin G. Apgar |
G2.1 |
|
1 |
7 |
Sara Y. Ely |
G2.2A, G2.2B |
|
1 |
8 |
William M. Mumpher |
G2.3 |
|
1 |
9 |
Mary Ryan |
G2.4 |
|
1 |
10 |
Frank H. Scobey |
G2.5 |
|
1 |
11 |
Levi Seely |
G2.6A, G2.6B |
|
1 |
12 |
Charles Skilton |
G2.7 |
|
1 |
13 |
Lillie A. Williams |
G2.8 |
|
1 |
14 |
Washington Hasbrouck |
G3.1 |
|
1 |
15 |
James M. Green |
G3.2A, G3.2B |
|
1 |
16 |
Jerohn J. Savitz |
G3.3A, G3.3B |
|
1 |
17 |
Don C. Bliss |
G3.4 |
|
1 |
18 |
Roscoe L. West |
G3.5A, G3.5B |
|
1 |
19 |
NJ Normal School – Artist Rendering (1857) |
G4.1A-G4.1C |
|
1 |
20 |
NJ Normal School (1900) |
G4.2 |
|
1 |
21 |
NJ Normal School (1900) |
G4.3 |
|
1 |
22 |
NJ Normal School – Boarding Hall (pre-1904) |
G4.1 |
|
1 |
23 |
Auditorium (pre-1909) |
G4.5 |
|
1 |
24 |
Library |
G4.7A, G4.7B |
|
1 |
25 |
Dining Room |
G4.8 |
|
2OS |
1 |
NJ Normal School (1925) |
G4.8OS |
|
1 |
26 |
Library Exterior |
G5.1 |
|
1 |
27 |
Library Interior |
G5.2 |
|
1 |
28 |
Library Mural (1910) by Richard Farley |
G5.3A, G5.3B |
|
1 |
29 |
Lanning- Teacher Class Presentation |
G6.1 |
|
1 |
30 |
Lanning- Teacher Auditorium Presentation |
G6.2 |
|
1 |
31 |
Lanning Display |
G6.3 |
|
1 |
32 |
Soccer/Football Players (1899) |
G7.1A, G7.1B |
|
1 |
33 |
Archery Class (1950) |
G7.2 |
|
1 |
34 |
Group of Women Students |
G7.3 |
|
1 |
35 |
Reunion 1943 |
G8.1 |
|
1 |
36 |
Jean Broadhurst Alumni Citation (1940) |
G8.2 |
|
1 |
37 |
John R. Wilson Citation (1941) |
G8.3 |
|
1 |
38 |
Horace Roberson Alumni Citation (1942) |
G8.4A, G8.4B |
|
1 |
39 |
Victory Parade (1918) |
G9.1A, G9.1B |
|
1 |
40 |
Victory Parade (1918) |
G9.2A, G9.2B |
|
1 |
41 |
NJ Loyalty Song by Samuel Frederic Monroe |
G10.1 |
|
1 |
42 |
NJ Loyalty Song (Chorus) |
G10.2 |
|
3 |
1 |
Cow |
G11.1 |
|
3 |
2 |
Elf |
G11.2 |
|
3 |
3 |
Horse |
G11.3 |
|
3 |
4 |
House |
G11.4 |
|
3 |
5 |
Penguin |
G11.5 |
|
3 |
6 |
Girl |
G11.6 |
|
3 |
7 |
Hunter |
G11.7 |
|
3 |
8 |
Soldiers and Large Gun |
G11.8 |
|
3 |
9 |
Fish |
G11.9 |
|
3 |
10 |
Child and Adult with Horse |
G11.10 |