Title: College Publications, 1925-2003
Abstract: The College Publications collection comprises bulletins and newsletters specifically produced for the College faculty, staff, and/or alumni as a whole. These items provide news and information regarding administrative and curricular issues. This collection excludes publications of a more literary nature created by students and faculty, e.g., Signal, Seal, Lion's Eye, etc. College Publications also excludes productions created for targeted audiences or for specific functions, such as recruiting and commencement materials and publications produced by specific academic departments, etc. (See finding aid for Newsletters.)
Arrangement Note: The collection is arranged by year of publication. The collection is arranged into 12 series:
Series 1: Faculty Bulletins
Series 2: Administrative Bulletins
Series 3: TSCurrents
Series 4: Campus Line
Series 5: Trustee Line
Series 6: This Week
Series 7: This Week @TCNJ
Series 8: Weekly Bulletin
Series 9: On the Inside
Series 10: Accent
Series 11: Accent and Alumni Review
Series 12: TCNJ Magazine
Extent: 11.0 boxes
The Weekly Bulletin was published as early as 1925. No further information is available about its origins or demise. The first issue of the Administrative Bulletin in this collection is dated September 11, 1959. It can be surmised that the Administrative Bulletin replaced the Faculty Bulletin.
However, on September 30, 1966, the Faculty Bulletin began to be re-issued (renumbered Vol.1, Number 1), and the Administrative Bulletin ceased publication sometime after 1965. It is possible that the newly re-issued Faculty Bulletin assumed the functions of both publications. The Faculty Bulletin was re-named Campus Line in the early 1970s.
On the Inside began publication in 1974.
On September 14, 1976, the Administrative Bulletin began to be reissued. Accent replaced Campus Line in 1976. In July 1983, Accent incorporated what had been a separate publication from the Alumni Office, Alumni Review. (NOTE: see finding aide for Alumni Association for Trenton Alumni Bulletin and Alumni Review). A section entitled "Alumni Review" now appeared as an insert in the Accent. In July 1988, the paper changed its name to Accent and Alumni Review.
On October 27, 1980, the Administrative Bulletin changed its format to include photographs and graphics. In February 1984, TSCurrents replaced Administrative Bulletin using a similar format and incorporating much of the same information. This first issue of This Week was published on January 25, 1988. Though there is no direct indication in the first issue, it can be inferred that This Week replaced TSCurrents because it contained much of the same information found in TSCurrents.
On March 3, 1975 (Vol. 1, Number 1), the first issue of Trustee Line came out. It was to supplement Campus Line, in that it reported announcements, actions, reports, etc. of the Board of Trustees. The TSCurrents, (first issue, Feb., 1984) had a column called Trustee Line, so it can be inferred that the Trustee Line publication became incorporated into TSCurrents in 1984 and later into This Week. TCNJ Magazine began in Spring 1997.
Series 1: Faculty Bulletins, 1930-1959 and 1966-1971
The audience of the Faculty Bulletin was the faculty and staff of the College. Its contents are notices or announcements, reports, weekly calendars, and lists of student withdrawals, suspensions, or reinstatements. No photographs, pictures, or drawings appear. Some issues after the late 1940s also include statistical information on rankings, distribution of grades, etc.
The re-issued Faculty Bulletin (Sept. 1966) and the Campus Line generally have the same types of information as their predecessors (announcements, reports, calendars, etc.), but with more graphic formats.
The Faculty Bulletin runs one to two pages through 1959; after 1966, two to five pages. The first issues of the Faculty Bulletin originated from President West's Office. By the early 1940s, the Faculty Bulletin was being published without any indication of originating office. After 1966, the Faculty Bulletin was published jointly by the Associate Dean of Instruction and the Coordinator of Public Information.
In the early years, the Faculty Bulletin was published sporadically. Oon some days, more than one Faculty Bulletin was published, in other cases, a week or more would pass without an issue. By the 1940s, the Faculty Bulletin was published once every seven days.
Series 2: Administrative Bulletins, 1959-1965 and 1976-1983
The contents of the original Administrative Bulletin includes weekly calendars, announcements, notices, policy changes, updates, etc. The re-issued Administrative Bulletin (Feb. 1976) does not include a calendar of events, but carries announcements of interest to faculty and staff.
In 1976, the Administrative Bulletin stated that it would publish items that had appeared under the heading "Communique" in Campus Line. These items would be of interest only to faculty and staff. The new Administrative Bulletin, however, did not include a calendar of events or personal items, as these would now appear in a new publication, Accent, which replaced Campus Line in 1976.
When the Administrative Bulletin changed its format on October 27, 1980, it also changed the nature of its contents. The later issues do not include job announcements. Instead, they focus on human-interest stories on individuals and events on campus, as well as a calendar of major events (lectures, concerts, performances, etc.). The latter issues display photographs and graphics.
The original Administrative Bulletin and its re-issue (Feb. 1976) runs from one to five pages in length (most of the original issues are one to two pages). The reformatted Administrative Bulletin (October 1980) is generally four pages. The original Administrative Bulletin had no indication of publisher. The Office of College Relations published the re-issue starting in February 1976 and all its successors.
The original Administrative Bulletin was published approximately every seven to eight days. The re-issue (Feb. 1976) was bimonthly (twice monthly).
Series 3: TSCurrents, 1984-1987
The TSCurrents has much of the same format as its predecessor, except that it does not have a calendar of events. It also had a section called "Trustee Line," consisting of notices of actions taken at the most recent Board of Trustees meeting. TSCurrents was published monthly.
TSCurrents runs from four to eight pages.
Series 4: Campus Line, 1971-1976
The Office of Public Relations published Campus Line, Trustee Line, and TCNJ Magazine. The Campus Line was published every seven days.
Series 5: Trustee Line, 1975-1981
The Trustee Line reports on actions, recommendations, reports, and announcements resulting from Board of Trustees public meetings. Issues of Trustee Line are one page. The Trustee Line was issued immediately following a public board meeting.
Series 6: This Week. 1988-1995
This Week contains feature stories, calendar of events, notes on "TSC People," a "Trustee Line," job opportunities on campus, and sports. It also includes photographs and graphics.
This Week is four to eight pages. This Week was published by the Office of College Relations, as was the Accent, Accent and Alumni Review, and On the Inside.
Series 7: This Week @TCNJ, 2000-2003
This Week originally was published weekly between September and May. On October 7, 1991, This Week moved to a bi-weekly (every two weeks) publication.
Series 8: Weekly Bulletin, 1925
The Weekly Bulletin consists of a single page broadside, which contains a calendar of events and brief announcements on sports, events on campus, lectures, etc. The Weekly Bulletin is a single page. There is no indication as to the publisher of the Weekly Bulletin.
Series 9: On the Inside, 1974-1976
On the Inside comprises brief stories on events and news at the College. Each issue features a few photographs. Each issue of On the Inside is four pages. On the Inside was published three times a year.
Series 10: Accent, 1976-1986; Series 11: Accent and Alumni Review, 1988-1993
Both the Accent and the Accent and Alumni Review are published in newspaper format. Their audiences are faculty, staff, alumni, parents, graduate students, secondary school guidance departments, and friends of the College. The look of the paper is upgraded from its predecessors, Administrative Bulletin and Campus Line. It tells more about the life and activities at the College. Typical issues include feature stories, news briefs, announcements, monthly calendars, faculty activities, sports, photos, and graphics.
Early issues of the Accent are four pages. By the mid-1980s, the paper grows to eight pages per issue. The Accent and Alumni Review also is eight pages. Originally the Accent was published nine times per year (excluding January, July and August). Starting in September/October 1982, the Accent came out in six duo-monthly issues. The same publishing frequency continued with the Accent and Alumni Review.
Series 12: TCNJ Magazine, 1997-present
TCNJ Magazine contains feature stories and alumni news. It includes many color photographs on glossy paper. TCNJ Magazine publishes approximately 50 pages per issue. TCNJ Magazine is published two to four times per year.
|
BOX |
FILE |
DESCRIPTION |
DATE |
|
# |
V.3 |
Faculty Bulletin - Spec A LD 32780 |
1966-1969 |
|
# |
V.5 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1970-1971 |
|
1 |
1 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1930-1933 |
|
1 |
2 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1934-1935 |
|
1 |
3 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1936-1938 |
|
1 |
4 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1939-1940 |
|
1 |
5 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1941-1942 |
|
2 |
1 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1943-1944 |
|
2 |
2 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1945-1946 |
|
2 |
3 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1947-1948 |
|
2 |
4 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1949-1950 |
|
3 |
1 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1951-1954 |
|
3 |
2 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1955-1957 |
|
3 |
3 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1958-1959 |
|
3 |
4 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1966-1969 |
|
3 |
5 |
Faculty Bulletin |
1970-1971 |
|
4 |
1 |
Administrative Bulletin |
1959-1965 |
|
4 |
2 |
Administrative Bulletin |
1976-1980 |
|
4 |
3 |
Administrative Bulletin |
1981-1983 |
|
4 |
4 |
TSCureents |
1984-1987 |
|
5 |
1 |
Campus Line |
1972-1973 |
|
5 |
2 |
Campus Line |
1974-1976 |
|
5 |
3 |
Trustee Line |
1975-1981 |
|
6 |
1 |
This Week |
SPRING 1988 |
|
6 |
2 |
This Week |
1988-1989 |
|
6 |
3 |
This Week |
1989-1990 |
|
6 |
4 |
This Week |
1990-1991 |
|
6 |
5 |
This Week |
1991-1992 |
|
6 |
6 |
This Week |
1992-1993 |
|
6 |
7 |
This Week |
1993-1994 |
|
6 |
8 |
This Week |
1994-1995 |
|
7 |
1 |
This Week @TCNJ |
2000 |
|
7 |
2 |
This Week @TCNJ |
2000-2001 |
|
7 |
3 |
This Week @TCNJ |
2001-2002 |
|
7 |
4 |
This Week @TCNJ |
2002-2003 |
|
7 |
5 |
Weekly Bulletin |
1925 |
|
7 |
6 |
On The Inside |
1974-1976 |
|
8 |
1 |
Accent |
1976-1978 |
|
8 |
2 |
Accent |
1978-1980 |
|
8 |
3 |
Accent |
1980 |
|
8 |
4 |
Accent |
1982-1984 |
|
8 |
5 |
Accent |
1984-1986 |
|
8 |
6 |
Accent |
1986-1988 |
|
9 |
7 |
Accent and Alumni Review |
1988-1989 |
|
9 |
8 |
Accent and Alumni Review |
1990-1991 |