TCNJ History

Title: Administration and Finance, Office of, 1987-2004

Creator: The Office of Administration and Finance

Abstract: This collection created by the Office of Administration and Finance contains annual audits prepared by an independent auditor and budget requests prepared by the Office Of Administrations and Finance. The Office originated in 1973, following a reorganization of the Office of Business Services.

Arrangement Note: This collection is arranged in five series:

Series 1: Financial Audits; Financial Statements
Series 2: Budget Requests
Series 3: Budget Allocations
Series 4: Disclosure Statements
Series 5: Master Plan

Extent: 4.0 boxes

Series 1: Financial Audits and Statements, 1987-2002

This series is arranged chronologically by fiscal year, which runs from July 1 to June 30. Each of these statements, prepared by an independent auditor, is submitted to the Board of Trustees by September 30. It contains balance sheets, changes in fund balances, statements of current fund revenues, expenditures, other changes, and notes to financial statements. Over the years, several different accounting firms have performed these audits.

Series 2: Budget Requests , 1987-2004

These Budget Requests are arranged chronologically. They are prepared by the Office of Administration and Finance and submitted to the State Treasurer.

The Budget Requests of FY 1987-88 through FY 1995 have two parts. Part A deals with the College in general, its organization and physical plant. Part B deals with funding needs for students and faculty. For 1993 and 1994, Part A contains fiscal forms and funding requests with background information. Part A for FY 1994 also includes Policy Questions for the Board of Education. The second part of the budget request for FY 1993 is labeled OMB and has material on salary programs, special purpose funding, instruction, academic support, institutional support, and physical plant. The FY 1994 OMB contains evaluation data of statewide programs, priority package requests, allocation of funds for FY and reallocations, general statement for the fiscal year on instruction, research, academic support, student services, physical plant, and account description costs. In the Budget Requests for FY 1995 Part A becomes Part I and contains a summary of unrestricted funds; salary programs; operating costs non-salary areas, facilities, and maintenance; enrollment evaluation data; estimated balances; tuition information; remediation expenditures; and budget surveys on adjunct faculty and new full-time faculty appointments. The OMB Budget Request for 1995 contains appropriation data, account descriptions, allocations of salary programs, inter-departmental cuts, tuition, reserves, and additional revenue receipts; general statements on instruction, research, academic support, student institutional services, and physical plant; and grant accounts.

From FY 1996 on, the Budget Requests are self-contained and more simplified. The FY 1996 statement calls for increased funding of salaries, replacement of faculty lines, increased maintenance, and technology enhancement. The revenue statement for that year lists the tuition revenue for FY 1995, appropriations data, account description, and special purpose accounts. The FY 1997 request has FY 1996 revenue statements, appropriation data, and account descriptions. The FY 1998 Budget Request contains requests for the salary program, budgets from the previous year, expected revenue for the current year, and projected revenue for the following year, tuition and schedules, and appropriation data.

Series 3: Budget Allocations, 1985-1992

Arranged chronologically, these documents cover the fiscal year from July 1 to June 30. The series is missing the fiscal year 1991.

For the fiscal years 1985-1986 and 1987 the series has a summary statement rather than a full report. The fiscal year 1985-1986 summary statement begins with a comparison among the FY 1985 June update, the Base Budget FY 1986, and the Revised Budget FY 1986. The summary for the FY 1987 begins a comparison of Approved Operation Budget for the FY 1987 to the Proposed Operating Budget for 1988. Each of these two reports then gives a summary budget of every area of the college.

The budgets for the subsequent years contain a detail report of allocations for each area of the college listing each sub-venture.

Series 4: Disclosure Statements, 1998

This statement gives a description of The College of New Jersey, its curriculum, governing body, administrative and academic offices, faculty data, enrollment data, admissions data, mean SAT scores of first-time entering students, degrees conferred, budget procedures of the college, legislative appropriations, tuition, fees and charges, plant values, and outstanding indebtedness of the college.

Series 5: Master Plans, 2002-2011

This document of June 2001 describes the goals and expectations for the College of New Jersey from 2002-2011.

Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Spring 1998, Fall 1998, Spring 2001, Fall 2001