Title: Roscoe L. West Library Records
Extent: 6 linear feet, 9 document cases and 1 oversized box
Abstract: The Roscoe L. West Library Records collection contains materials pertinent to "The Old Library," including architectural drawings, correspondence, and other documents. Materials related to the construction of the R. Barbara Gitenstein Library, opened in 2005, are included, as well.
Language: English
Processing Information Note
Processed by: Brenda Cohen, Winter 1998, Fall 1999, Fall 2000, Fall 2002
Notable highlights include Series 7, which contains the publication The Source Theme. This was a "manual for gathering library material, organizing, and preparing the manuscript" from 1944. Series 8 features TCNJ exhibits, which include the inauguration of President R. Barbara Gitenstein. Materials include academic regalia, Past Principals and Presidents, and copies of the president's journal articles. Part 1 of the inauguration exhibit includes The Changing Face of Leadership. Series 11 includes three presentations on TCNJ history made by the library. The first presentation is An Introductory Training Session for a New Managerial Development Program. This was conducted by Mr. Bob Drake, Vice President of Administration and Organizational Development. The second presentation, Overhead: Diagrams and Photographs, was presented to the Victorian Society of Trenton by Philip Tramdack.
The collection is arranged into series, then chronologically by year. This collection is arranged into 11 series:
Series 1: Reports
Series 2: Committee Minutes
Series 3: Program Reviews
Series 4: Gifts/Grants
Series 5: Staff Manuals
Series 6: Annex Planning and Construction
Series 7: Publications
Series 8: Exhibits
Series 9: Renovation and Expansion
Series 10: Original 1931 Building
Series 11: Presentations by Library Faculty/Staff
Note: For The Ribbon Garden: A Commemoration of 9/11 exhibit in Series 8, please see the Memorabilia Collection.
|
BOX |
FILE |
DESCRIPTION |
DATE |
|
1 |
1 |
Annual Reports |
1944-1952 |
|
1 |
2 |
Annual Reports |
1953-1957 |
|
1 |
3 |
Annual Reports |
1958-1963 |
|
1 |
4 |
Annual Reports |
1964-1971, 1973 |
|
1 |
5 |
Report of the Librarian (Spec A LD3780.N84A2) |
1955-1972 |
|
1 |
6 |
Annual Reports |
1989-1990 |
|
1 |
7 |
Annual Reports |
1990-1991 |
|
1 |
8 |
Annual Reports |
1992-1993 |
|
1 |
9 |
Annual Reports |
1993-1994 |
|
1 |
|
Annual Reports |
1993-1997 |
|
2 |
1 |
Acquisition Reports |
1973-1990 |
|
2 |
2 |
Circulation Librarian Reports |
1950-1988 |
|
2 |
3 |
Holdings Circulation Data |
1971-1989 |
|
2 |
4 |
Goals, Objectives, Five Year Plans |
1998-1995 |
|
2 |
5 |
Library Access Committee Report |
Undated |
|
2 |
6 |
Professional Standards Report |
1973 |
|
2 |
7 |
Remodeling Report |
1959 |
|
2 |
8 |
Report on Preserving the NJ Collection |
Undated |
|
2 |
9 |
Space Committee, Seating Report |
1977, 1986, 1988 |
|
2 |
10 |
Minutes of the Director’s Advisory Council |
1973-1976 |
|
2 |
11 |
Minutes-Rights and Responsibilities Committee |
1972, 1973, 1976 |
|
2 |
12 |
Staff/Faculty Meetings |
1967-1969 |
|
2 |
13 |
Staff/Faculty Meetings |
1970-1978 |
|
2 |
14 |
Staff/Faculty Meetings |
1990, 1994 |
|
2 |
14A |
Faculty and Staff Lists |
1981-1988 |
|
2 |
15 |
Miscellaneous |
1955, 1989 |
|
3 |
1 |
Self-Study- AACTE |
1953 |
|
3 |
2 |
Self-Study- AACTE |
1966, 1974 |
|
3 |
3 |
Self-Study Middle States |
1985 |
|
3 |
4 |
Self-Study Middle States |
1990 |
|
3 |
5 |
General Reports |
1950, 1956, 1966-1972 |
|
3 |
6 |
Gift Policies/Guidelines |
Undated |
|
3 |
7 |
Casper Fund |
1989, 1990-1991 |
|
3 |
8 |
Class of 1987 Gift |
1995 |
|
3 |
9 |
Cook Poetry Collection |
1988, 1990 |
|
3 |
10 |
Decker Memorial Fund |
1987-1989, 1994-1995 |
|
3 |
11 |
Employee Gift Fund |
1995-1996 |
|
3 |
12 |
Hirsch Gifts |
1989-1990, 1992 |
|
3 |
13 |
Kurtzman Memorial Fund |
1988-1990, 1995 |
|
3 |
14 |
Philhower Gift |
1961-1962, 1995 |
|
3 |
15 |
Region V Grant |
1992, 1994 |
|
3 |
15A |
Ernest Sixta Memorial Gift Fund |
1982 |
|
3 |
16 |
Walker Gift |
1993, 1995 |
|
3 |
16A |
Edith West Memorial Gift Fund |
1970-1971 |
|
3 |
17 |
Miscellaneous Donations |
1988, 1993-1996 |
|
3 |
18 |
Doris M. Perry Historical Textbook Collection |
1989 |
|
4 |
1 |
Staff Manuals |
1943, 1954 |
|
4 |
2 |
Staff Manuals |
1965-1985 |
|
4 |
3 |
Staff Policies/Guidelines |
Undated |
|
4 |
4 |
Technical Services Manual |
1989 |
|
4 |
5 |
Specifications for Remodeling West Library |
1960 |
|
4 |
6 |
Annex Proposal/Consultation |
1966 |
|
4 |
7 |
Annex Specifications |
1967 |
|
5 |
1 |
Annex Dedication |
1970 |
|
7OS |
1 |
Blue Prints (A.370.73NJ) |
1960 |
|
5 |
2 |
Library Guides |
1964-1992 |
|
5 |
3 |
Library Preview |
1986-1991 |
|
5 |
3A |
Obiter Scripta |
1992-1995 |
|
5 |
4 |
Roscoe L. West Newsletter |
1978-1985 |
|
5 |
5 |
The Source Theme |
1944 |
|
5 |
|
Librarian’s Choice (Spec A Z1035.N4 C.2) |
1973-1981 |
|
5 |
6 |
Two Walt Whitman Treasures in TCNJ Library |
1998 |
|
5 |
7 |
TCNJ at the Millennium |
Spring 1999 |
|
5 |
8 |
Inauguration President Gitenstein [II.] |
Oct. 1999 |
|
5 |
9 |
Inauguration President Gitenstein [I.] |
Oct. 1999 |
|
8OS |
1 |
Past, Present, Future of West Library |
Spring 2000 |
|
5 |
2 |
Building for Excellence |
Spring 2000 |
|
5 |
4 |
West Library from Clinton Ave. to the Present |
Spring 2001 |
|
5 |
5 |
Springtime on TCNJ Campus |
Spring 2002 |
|
6 |
1 |
Project Overview, Team, Mission |
March 1999 |
|
6 |
2 |
Public Forums Announcements, Building Areas |
Oct. 1999 |
|
6 |
3 |
Plans, Drafts 1 |
Sept. 20, 1999 |
|
6 |
4 |
Plans, Drafts 2 |
Oct. 1, 1999 |
|
6 |
5 |
Plans, Drafts 3 |
May 15, 2000 |
|
8OS |
3 |
Basement and First Floor Plans |
1931 |
|
9 |
1 |
History of TCNJ Presentation - Cohen |
Oct. 20, 2000 |
|
9 |
2 |
History of TCNJ Presentation - Tramdack |
Nov. 17, 2002 |
|
9 |
3 |
History of TCNJ Presentation- Tramdack |
Undated |
| 10OS | Electrical Blueprints, upper floor | 1969-1970 |