The TCNJ Gitenstein Library Archives and Special Collections (Archives) include materials about the history of the College, as well as a substantial collection of Historical Textbooks, a smaller collection of Historical Children’s Literature, and other rare, limited edition, and oversized art books. Some books are in unusual formats or in fragile condition.

For security reasons the Archives is a locked area. Access to the Archives is by appointment, although same day access may be available if staffing permits. Please contact the Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, Deb Schiff at schiffd@tcnj.edu.

Collections

TCNJ History – The history of the College is documented in books, manuscripts, scrapbooks, dissertations, photographs, oral histories, college publications, and ephemera. Textiles such as banners and pennants, as well as hats and other objects wearing the TCNJ logo are included in the collection.

Some of the major college publications that have been digitized and are available here include the following:
Signal – the college newspaper, 1885 – June 1919 and December 1929 to the present
Seal – the college yearbook, 1911 to the present (missing 1913)
College catalogs – various titles: Annual Report, Undergraduate Bulletin, etc., 1855 to the present

Literary Publications
Chimes – 1957-1979
Fire II – 1973-1998
Gumption – 1980-1983
Lion’s Eye – 1984-
Poetry Review – 1980-1983
Review – 1966; 1990-
Siren – 1995-
Utimme Umana: La Voz Oculta – 1972-1990

Historical Textbook Collection – This collection of textbooks includes mainly 19th-century texts in arithmetic, geography, spelling, history, science, and other subjects. Some of the items date back to 1711, and the collection in the Archives extends through 1959. (Textbooks dating from 1960 are in the stacks on the 3rd floor.)

Historical Children’s Literature Collection – This collection of primarily American children’s books includes items dating back to the 19th and early 20th centuries. Many of the books are not yet cataloged.

Rare and Special Collection Books – This collection includes books that may be limited editions, oversized, unusual format, and/or in fragile condition. There are several call number designations (Vault, Limited Access, Special Collections) left from the former library building, but the location designation does not refer to any particular subject area. All three areas have a wide variety of books, including limited-edition art books, large atlases, 19th century religious pamphlets, ethnographic reports to the Smithsonian Institution, and much more.

TSC Theses – This collection of Trenton State College master’s theses is available on microfiche. Dates range from 1951 to present. Some recent theses may be available in print. Users may check theses holdings in the online catalog by author, title, or subject.

The most frequent requests for archival material concern information about people (alumni, staff, and faculty), histories of particular buildings, and the history of the college from its beginnings as the Normal and Model School in Trenton to The College of New Jersey in Ewing. Incomplete sets of the Seal, Signal, and catalogs are available in the open stacks. The Archives contain the most complete sets of these publications. Click HERE for more information on basic sources on the history of the college and the people associated with the college.