TCNJ History

Title: Handbooks/Manuals, 1939-2000

Abstract:  Each of these handbooks gives an overview of policies and services on campus. In addition, they provide glimpses of college life and more, especially the Student and General Information Handbooks.

Arrangement note: There are four series of handbooks arranged chronologically by year:

• Series 1: Administrative Manuals, 1939-1968, bulk-1961-1968
• Series 2: Faculty Handbooks, 1967-1985
• Series 3: Student Handbooks, 1928-1940, 1976-1990
• Series 4: General Information Handbooks, 1960-1974

Language: English

Extent: 5.0 boxes; 3 linear feet

Series 1:  Administrative Manuals, 1939-1968, bulk-1961-1968

The Administrative Manuals are the precursors to the Faculty Handbooks, described below. The Administrative Manuals are indexed. For additional handbooks see Academic Affairs, Office of (1965-66, 1966-67).

Series 2:  Faculty Handbooks, 1967-1985

The Faculty Handbooks in this collection range from 1967-1985. They describe administrative services and many of the policies of the College. Among the types of information found in the Handbooks are an organizational chart of the governance of the College, an academic year calendar of major academic events (beginning and ending of terms, holidays, etc.), descriptions of administrative offices, instructions, procedures, and policies of major administrative services (e.g., College store, communications, janitor services, library, mail, travel authorization, parking, etc.). There also are policies relating to instruction and advisement including grading, curriculum revisions, academic dishonesty, and registration; faculty personnel policies including salary schedules, benefits, promotion and tenure policies; student personnel policies including counseling services, health services, and student employment and loan funds; and listings of faculty committees. Each handbook is indexed. For additional handbooks see Academic Affairs, Office of (1967-1985).

Series 3: Student Handbooks, 1928-1940, 1976-1990

The Student Executive Board compiled the earlier handbooks. They included the “schedule of bells” which regulated hours of rising, meals,  beginning and end of study hour, etc.; information on attendance, extra-curricular activities and funds; grading systems; social events; Senior and Junior Weeks; rules and “words of wisdom” for Freshmen; school cheers; leaders of student organizations; societies and fraternities; and churches and points of interest in Trenton. Towards the late 1930s, the handbooks also included the Student Constitution, descriptions of College traditions, and information on athletics.

The Student Handbooks from 1976-present were prepared by the Student Activities Office and, later, by the Office of College Relations. These handbooks consisted of academic year calendars; descriptions and policies of college services including advisement and counseling, financial aid, food services, housing, library, college store, and more; descriptions and policies of student organizations, clubs, and fraternities; sports programs; general college policies regarding such matters as attendance and absences, grievance procedures, student records, and alcoholic beverages and smoking policies; and regulations concerning student life such as freedom of expression and inquiry, student participation in college governance and publications, and procedures of the College judicial structure. More recent handbooks have included information and guidance on student assimilation into college life, covering such areas as "Making the Transition from High School to College" and "Academic Resources for Success." Each of the Student Handbooks is indexed.

Note: The Student Directories of 1974-75 and 1977-78 combine the features of both a Student Handbook and a Directory of student phone numbers and addresses. These two publications can be found in the Directories Series.

Series 4: General Information Handbooks, 1960-1974

Published by the Student Cooperative Association and, later, the Student Activities Office, the General Information Handbooks essentially provide the same information as in the Student Handbooks, described above. It can be inferred that around 1975-76, the title of these publications changed to Student Handbooks. Each of the General Information Handbooks is indexed.