TCNJ History

Title: New Jersey State Normal School Records, 1855-1999, with gaps

Abstract:  This collection includes some of the earliest records created by the school. Contained in this group are payroll registers, teachers' contracts, grade books and reports, teaching position registers, visitors register, and other items related to administrators, faculty, and staff.

Language: English

Arrangement note: This collection is arranged into six series:

Series 1: Payroll Register
Series 2: Teacher Contracts
Series 3: Grade Books and Reports; Final Averages Ledgers
Series 4: Appointments Register
Series 5: Visitors Register
Series 6: Administrators, Faculty, Staff

Each series is arranged chronologically.

Extent: 2.5 linear feet; 2 document cases and 6 oversized boxes

Processing Information Note

Processed by: Samantha Tai, Fall 1997; Brenda Cohen, Fall 1999

This collection contains records of 1856-1999, with gaps, of the New Jersey State Normal School.

Series 1, Payroll Register, 1856-1873

This register contains the monthly payroll of faculty and administrators of the NJ State Normal School from May/June 1856 through January 1873. The register includes the amount due, the amount received, and the faculty member's signature.

Series 2, Teaching Contracts, 1856-1916

Upon entrance to the NJ State Normal School each student had to sign the student register. This register includes the student's signature and town and county of residence. At the top of each page is a printed statement in which the undersigned student agreed to teach for the Teachers in the Common Schools of NJ for at least 2 years:

The undersigned, having received Certificates of Admission as Pupils in the New Jersey State Normal School, hereby declare, that it is their intention to engage in the employment of Teachers in the Common Schools of this state for at least two years, and that their object in resorting to this school, is the better to qualify themselves for that responsible duty. The undersigned also hereby agree to report themselves semi-annually, in writing, for the aforesaid period of two years, to the Principal of the Normal School, in case they enjoy its privileges for one term or more.

Series 3, Grade Records and Reports, 1895-1922; Final Averages Ledgers, 1871-1912

This group of four grade books lists each graduating student and is arranged chronologically. The final average of all graduates was recorded in these grade books. Each student received a number grade of 5 (perfect grade) 3 (imperfect grade), or 1 (failing grade). Teachers also kept track of students' absence, tardiness, and misconduct. Students received a negative sign for an absence, a positive sign for tardiness, and a zero for misconduct (cf. Jarrold, Time, The Great Teacher, 17).

Students were graded on discipline, originality, intelligence, manner, teaching, practice, and vocal and instrumental music. In addition, written evaluations were made about the students' strengths and weaknesses, as well as any specialties they had. In June 1902, students were no longer graded on originality. In 1918, the age of students was recorded.

Prior to June 1918, the General Curriculum included English language, graphics, mathematics, nature science, ethics, and theory and practice of teaching. A kindergarten course was added in February 1898, and in June 1908, the school where students taught was also added. Beginning in June 1918, students were grouped into the following broad curricula: General, Kindergarten-Primary, Domestic Science, Commercial, and Manual Training. In June 1919, Domestic Science was expanded to include Arts and a music course was added in February 1921.

Beginning in June 1921, students were graded on scholarship and discipline. In addition, the teaching rank and recommended grade for teaching were included with each name. Students were now grouped among the following categories: General, Kindergarten-Primary, Commercial, Physical Training and Course for Teachers of the Deaf.

Final Averages Ledgers: Similar to the Grade Books and Reports, these volumes feature alphabetical lists of students and record the date of entrance, age at entrance, numerical (and later letter) grades, occasionally dates of graduation, and occasionally general remarks.

Series 4, Appointments Register, 1909-1923

This register catalogs Normal School students' appointments to schools throughout New Jersey. After graduating, students were required to teach at appointed schools in New Jersey for at least two years. Arranged alphabetically, this register contains the student's name and address; school address; grade being taught; former student's name and salary; and the number of months contained in the contract. In addition, this register includes any miscellaneous information about the former student (i.e., marriage, illness, deceased, number of years teaching, etc.).

Prior to June 1918, this register contained one category: the General Course. Beginning in June 1918, students were grouped according to the curricula they had studied at the Normal School. However, between February 1922 and June 1922, students were graded on scholarship and discipline. Also included were the grades taught and the grades for which the teachers were best suited.

Series 5, Visitors Register, 1918-1925

This visitors register includes guests' signatures between March 4, 1918 and March 18, 1925. The register includes the name, address, class if alumnus, and any remarks (i.e., professors visited, professors sought, grades visited, etc.).

Series 6, Administrators, Faculty, and Staff, 1999

This series contains materials relating to the administrators, faculty, and staff of the Normal School. The Ramsey County History, Fall 1999, Volume 34, Number 3, published by the Historical Society of Ramsey County, MN, contains information about the first Principal of the Normal School, William F. Phelps.