Cataloging and Metadata Services

This document applies to all physical materials acquired by Gitenstein Library. All physical titles cataloged should have at least one holdings record created and attached to the bibliographic record. A holdings record is important as it provides call number, location, and holdings information which are displayed in discovery. Library users rely on the information to locate materials.

 

One of the most important fields in the holdings record is the 852 field. The 852 field contains location and call number information. It also indicates the type of shelving scheme and shelving order used for the item being cataloged. The applicable indicators and subfields are given below.

 

First indicator --  Shelving scheme
 0 – Library of Congress classification
 1 – Dewey Decimal classification (e.g. TCNJ Children’s collection Dewey call numbers)
 3 – SuDoc classification (e.g. TCNJ Federal Gov Doc collection)
 5 – Title (e.g. TCNJ Periodical collection)
 8 – Other (e.g. TCNJ State Gov Doc number, CD/DVD accession numbers, Children's collection Fict call numbers)

 

Second indicator – Shelving order

Blank – No information provided (all holdings in Alma)

Historical indicators from Voyager
 0 – Not enumeration
 1 – Primary enumeration
 2 – Alternative enumeration

 

 b – Library (MAIN or MEDIA) (e.g. $b MAIN)

 c – Location (e.g. $c gencoll)
 h – Call number, classification part
 i – Call number, item part (i.e. cutter part)
 t – Copy number
 x – Nonpublic note (internal use)
 z – Public note

Subfield t ($t) is used only for copy 2 or higher. It is our policy not to use subfield t ($t) for the first copy the library acquires regardless of whether the library has only a single copy or multiple copies of the title--that is, do not enter $t 1 in the 852 field.

 

Subfield x ($x) is used as internal note. Information such as processing instructions (e.g. classed together, analyzed; analyzed 2000-  ; not analyzed 2001-  ; use year of ed., not vol. … etc.) should be entered here.

 

Subfield z ($z) is used as public note. Any information that will help patrons locate materials should be entered here.

Here are some examples of the 852 field:

 

852 0_  $b MAIN $c gencoll $h LB231 $i .N64 2003
852 0_  $b MAIN $c ref $t 2 $h GV35.U56 $i K324 2000
852 5_  $b MAIN $c perstack  $h Shelved by title

 

Multiple holdings records for Multiple Copies

It is Gitenstein Library’s policy that each copy of a title should have its own holdings record regardless if it is for the same or different location. The copy number is used for the 2nd or higher copy of a title shelved in the same location. Use $t to record copy number in the 852 field. No copy number should be used in the 852 field for single copy titles in any location. Here are some examples:

 

852 0_  $b MAIN $c gencoll $t 2 $h HC103 $i .U63 2003
852 0_  $b MAIN $c ref $t 3 $h PS2300.T4321 $i B54 2001

 

For the vast majority of the collection, Gitenstein Library does not retain or add multiple copies. If you are directed to add a second copy to the collection in the same location, open the holding for copy 1 in the MD editor, duplicate the holding (File>Duplicate), alter 852 in the the new holding record by adding $t 2, and then attach the item for copy 2 to the new holding. Be sure to add "2" to the copy ID field in the item record.

 

An 866 field should be used to record holdings information for multiple-volume set of monographs and serials.  The 866 field is a textual holdings statement field. It helps library users know what volumes the library has in its collection. Following the standards used in MARC21 format for Holdings data, Gitenstein Library codes 866_0.

 

 

 a  –  Textual string (used for holdings information free text)
 x  –  Non-public note (for internal staff use)
 z  –  Public note   

 

For monographic sets, the holdings information in the 866 field should be closed which means catalogers will need to update the holdings information each time a new volume comes in. For serial publications, regardless of publication type (periodical or continuation), open ended holdings should be used if we have a subscription or standing order to that title. Occasionally, the Library orders continuation titles through firm order which means we do not necessarily have every issue that’s published. In this case, the title should be cataloged as a serial and closed holdings should be used.  Here are some examples:

 

866 _0  $a v.35:no.1(1971:Jan.)-  (periodical, currently received)
866 _0  $a v.1(1990)-  (continuation or periodical currently received)
866 _0  $a v.3,7,10,14,20(1960,1964,1967,1971,1977) (closed mono or serial set)
866 _0  $a v.1:no.1-5,v.3-6(1987,1989-1992) ( periodical, not currently received)