Cataloging and Metadata Services

Indicates whether or not a value must be included

Mandatory – A value is required

Mandatory if applicable – A value is required for a particular type of resources

Mandatory if available – A value is required if it is available

Optional – A value is not required; can be included on a case-by-case basis

Repeatable – The named element can be repeated to record more than one value.

Non-Repeatable – The named element cannot be repeated.

For authority control purposes, begin by checking if there are other records by the author. If found, use the same form of the name found even when it varies from how the name appears on the resource.

• From metadata creation to metadata quality control: continuing education needs among cataloging and metadata professionals
• A study of a longitudinal first-grade reading readiness program

Rarely used for articles, conference presentations, and other typical IR resources.

Month: January, February, etc.

Date: 2-digit number (01, 11, etc.)

Enter available date fields only.

Include standard bibliographic citation information for an article, paper, chapter, etc. in a larger publication using any citation style. Journal titles may be in abbreviated form. (We follow DC optional provision here.)

Take the citation from the resource itself, the journal website, information from author, etc. If the citation is not readily available, construct an MLA, ALA, or any other standard citation by using a citation generator in the journal website, searching in Google Scholar (and using the "cite" feature), or by using online guides or online generators (1, 2, 3).

Citation information recorded here will be additionally parsed out into separate elements in a post-processing step.

A value should be always included for a published material. Add a DOI link for articles. If no DOI information is available for an article, or for other types of published materials, include a link to the online version of the resource that is publicly accessible on the external Web site. See this guide on finding DOI information if not available on the resource.

For books, use an OCLC WorldCat link unless DOI information is available.

http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.tetlet.2009.03.217

Select the general type applicable to the resource from the following values in the menu.

• Collection: An aggregation of resources (its parts may also be separately described.)
• Dataset: Data encoded in a defined structure
• Event: A non-persistent, time-based occurrence (e.g., exhibition, webcast, conference, performance)
• Image: A visual representation other than text (e.g., photographs, paintings, prints, drawings, diagrams, maps, musical notation; may include both electronic and physical representations)
• Image, 3-D
• Interactive Resource: A resource requiring interaction from the user to be understood, executed, or experienced (e.g., multimedia learning objects, chat services, virtual reality environments)
• Moving Image: A series of visual representations imparting an impression of motion when shown in succession (e.g., animations, movies, television programs, videos)
• Software: A computer program in source or compiled form.
• Sound: A resource primarily intended to be heard
• Text: A resource consisting primarily of words for reading (includes images of texts)

Also select the most specific type(s), if any, applicable to the resource from the following values in the menu.

• Animation
• Article
• Book
• Book Chapter
• Conference Publication
• Learning Object
• Map
• Musical Score
• Plan or blueprint
• Poster
• Preprint
• Postprint
• Presentation
• Recording, acoustical
• Recording, musical
• Recording, oral
• Technical Report
• Thesis
• Video
• Working Paper
• Other

Transcribe subject keywords listed on the resource or publisher web site, if available. Always capitalize only the first word (e.g., "Academic libraries"). For authority control purposes, when recording subject keywords, begin by cross-checking subject keywords against the subject browse list and record the keyword already found in the list if it is a simple variant of the keyword found on the resource (e.g., MARC formats vs. MARC standards). Consult librarians if in doubt.

For published PDFs and postprints. If they are unavailable in hand, take subject keywords from journal websites. Do not use abstracts supplied by databases.

Also check subject keywords in OCLC FAST website to see if there are matching FAST terms. If found, record such FAST terms in addition unless they are exactly the same as subject keywords found on articles or journal websites.

For subject keywords relating to space and time, record them in the dc.coverage.spatial and dc.coverage.temporal elements during the post-processing process (see below).

Organic compounds

Metadata

Insecticides

Transcribe an abstract or summary usually found on the first page of an article, conference presentation, etc.

For published PDFs and postprints. If they are unavailable in hand, take abstracts from journal websites. Do not use abstracts supplied by databases.

Record if sponsor information is found on the resource. Begin by checking if there are other records including the same sponsor information. If found, use the same form of the name found even when it varies from how the name appears on the resource, etc.

This element is used to record information that is relevant to the resource but not recorded in other elements (e.g., descriptive notes, remarks, and details about the resource, table of contents, any distinguishing features). 

When there is no full-text file to be attached to the record being created, add the following phrase: File not available for download due to copyright restrictions

When there are multiple descriptions to be recorded, first record only one description. See "post-processing steps" below for the procedure to handle additional descriptions.

Department of Chemistry publication.

Transcript of an interview conducted in TCNJ Library, October 2000. Video digitized in 2010.

This is an electronic version of an article published in Cataloging & Classification Quarterly.