LibGuides: Public Health: Health Education

Statistics and Population Data

TIP: For help with this type of resource, take a look at the blue tabs above labeled "Statistical and Data Resources" and "Demographic Information."

Essential Databases

ERIC
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is a US Dept. of Education resource that provides access to scholarly educational literature, including peer-reviewed journals, reports and other full-text documents.
PAIS Index
Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from policy oriented literature of the social sciences, including economics and political science.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides research in areas specifically related to communication and mass media.
PsycINFO
Comprehensive international database of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts from the academic, research and practice literature in psychology, and includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work and criminology.

Consumer Health Resources

Consumer Health is the term used to refer to health information that is intended for the general public, rather than healthcare professionals. By definition, most consumer health resources are freely available, though funding sources for these sites vary tremendously. The resources listed here are mostly government or non-profit funded, except where indicated.

These online consumer health resources contain a wide variety of educational information, including factsheets and reference tools. Some are available in Spanish

MedlinePlus
A service of the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus provides free high-quality medical information designed for the general public, without advertising or corporate sponsorship (unlike WebMD). It contains information about drugs and supplements, medical tests, genetic testing, and other health topics. The entire contents of the site can be viewed in Spanish by clicking the "Español" button on the right side of the toolbar.
MedlinePlus Older Adult Health
Subsection of MedlinePlus dedicated to topics relevant to older adults. Features links to resources from other government and non-profit agencies.
MyHealthFinder
This tool from the Department of Health and Human Services is designed to help the public understand preventive health services, like regular checkups, medical tests, and vaccines. It provides a simple tool to find out which screening tests a person may need.
Mayo Clinic Health Information
Mayo Clinic is a private, non-profit healthcare system. Though it was originally founded in partnership with a Catholic (Franciscan) convent, it is currently considered a secular organization. Mayo's library of health information for the public is free of advertising, and regularly reviewed by healthcare providers.
Merck Manuals
Merck is a New Jersey-based pharmaceutical company. For nearly 200 years, this company has been financing a popular medical and pharmaceutical reference book aimed at healthcare professionals and the general public. This resource is now available free online, is updated regularly by healthcare professionals and reviewed by an editorial board.
Hardin Library Consumer Health Guide
This research guide is maintained by the Hardin Health Sciences Library at the University of Iowa. Use the tabs at the top of the page to browse the resources, which are organized by topic. Note that some resources may not be relevant to New Jersey.

Special Consumer Health Topics

Online consumer health resources on more specific topics, such as alternative healing and sexual health.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
Formerly known as NCCAM. This division of the NIH focuses on alternative and complementary medicine. Contains educational information about supplements, herbal treatments, yoga, and other alternative healing practices, aimed at the general public.
About Herbs: Herbal Supplement Database
Maintained by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. This is a searchable database of evidence-based information about herbal products, with illustrations.
American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)
ASHA is a non-profit organization dedicated to sexual health education. The website contains educational materials produced by ASHA staff and reviewed by healthcare providers.
The Center for Excellence for Transgender Health at UCSF
These resources are aimed at both healthcare providers and at trans people in the general public, and cover a broad range of topics relevant to health care for this population.
The Trevor Project Resource Center
The Trevor Project is a non-profit organization. These resources cover topics related to sexual health, gender identity, and mental health, and are mainly aimed at young adults.