Public Health: Statistical and Data Resources

A guide to help you find stats! Contains even more resources than you see here, focused on a variety of topics. Created by TCNJ's Social Science Librarian, Dr. Erin Ackerman.

Need a dataset to work with for your course? TCNJ's Social Sciences Librarian, Dr. Erin Ackerman, created a great research guide to help you do just that.

Provides access to a vast archive of social science data including government studies and polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers.

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Includes the iPoll question databank, a vast collection of surveys from Gallup, Harris, Roper, the New York Times, and many other organizations covering national public opinion.

Statista is a statistics portal that provides access to data from more than 18,000 sources.

Provides business descriptions and complete financials (for up to 15 years) on over 11,000 US public companies, as well as selected international company data. Financials can be downloaded into spreadsheet applications. Create customized analyses and comparison reports for companies and their industries. Historical annual reports are also available.

FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths.

Health, United States is an annual report from NCHS on trends in health statistics.

A division of the CDC, NCHS provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information.

Created by NYU Grossman School of Medicine's Department of Population Health, and with support from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the City Health Dashboard offers data on over 40 measures of health and drivers of health for over 950 cities across the U.S. – all cities over population 50,000 plus a growing set of smaller places.

This interactive site makes available state and country wide health data so that researchers, students, policy makers, grant writers, etc. can fully explore the key issues and concerns of health.

Leading research and policy organization committed to advancing sexual and reproductive health and rights in the United States and globally

A data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements.

Project Tycho® is a project at the University of Pittsburgh to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making. Currently, the Project Tycho® database includes data from all weekly notifiable disease reports for the United States dating back to 1888.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.

"The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."

Collects, assesses, and presents data on the U.S. health care workforce

Provides access to public health datasets, statistics, and information on the health status of New Jerseyans

The Center for State Health Policy at Rutgers University maintains this useful list of links to various data sources for NJ, including separate lists of Federal and private sources that include NJ data.

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Data about development in countries around the globe