Public Health: Epidemiology

Provides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine’s database of bibliographic citations and abstracts for the biomedical sciences, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems and preclinical sciences.

Provides citations with abstracts to research literature in biomedicine, zoology, ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and books, and patents.

Indexes periodical articles in biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, physiology, zoology and other related fields. Also covers agricultural fields including agricultural research, chemicals, economics and engineering.

The principal index to the literature in sociology and related disciplines. It is an international database that provides citations to and abstracts from journals, books, dissertations, and conference papers.

Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from policy oriented literature of the social sciences, including economics and political science.

Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

DPDx is a website developed and maintained by CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria (DPDM) that uses the Internet to assist laboratorians and pathologists in the diagnosis of parasitic diseases, both in the United States and abroad.