Don't miss...
the English libguide.
Humanities Librarian
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609Room 216
Reference Shelf
Go-to library databases for obtaining bio-bibliographical information about Hispanic American authors:
- Literature Online
- Search Author Pages for a known author.
- Browse > Authors > Hispanic-American
- Literature Resource Center
- Perform a Person Search for a known author.
- Person Search > Ethnicity > Hispanic American
- Browse Topics >
The titles below also provide credible background information about Hispanic American authors. Some, in addition, contain lists of authors' primary works as well as reviews and scholarly criticisms about those primary works.
Bibliography:
Bibliographic Guide to Chicana and Latina Narrative by Call Number: Internet Archvie E-BOOKISBN: 0313319871Publication Date: 2003-08-30There are many uses for this bibliography! Use it to identify the anthology that contains a known short story. Find works of fiction about a place (e.g., Texas) or theme (e.g., the immigrant experience). Obtain brief summaries of novels (e.g., "Four Mexican sisters describe the conditions of migrant workers in California."). Includes Author, Title, Anthology, Novel, and Autobiography/Biography indexes. Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS153.M4 L46 2003.
Latino Literature: A Guide to Reading Interests by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9781591582922Publication Date: 2009-08-25Discover works of fiction that appeal to a wide readership. Chapters cover General Fiction, Historical Fiction, Women's Fiction, Latino Romance and Love Stories, Mysteries and Suspense, Fantastic Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, Life Stories, and Narrative Nonfiction.
Bio-bibliography:
The following titles provide credible background information about Hispanic American authors. Some offer lists (bibliographies) of authors' primary works and scholarly criticisms about those works.
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: The Literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Other Hispanic Writers by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0313244650Publication Date: 1989-09-26Profiles 50 authors from Marjorie Agosin through Ed Vega. Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PQ7420.2 .K3 1989.
Crossing Cultures: Hispanic Authors and the Challenges They Overcame in the United States by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9781433112539Publication Date: 2011-02-28Profiles five authors: Mario Bencastro, Aristeo Brito, Rolando J. Díaz, Graciela Limón, and Demetria Martínez. Each profile incorporates two types of primary sources: 1) an interview with the author; and 2) a chapter from one of their literary works.
The Pura Belpre Awards: Celebrating Latino Authors and Illustrators by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0838935621Publication Date: 2006-06-05Also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # Z1037.A2 P87 2006.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB):
DLB is available online from the library's Literature Resource Center (LRC) database. Employ the appropriate title (see below) or conduct a Person Search (e.g., Graciela Limón) across all of LRC. Click Biographies from the gray bar at the top of the author's page. Sort results by date, Newest at the top of the list. If desired, Filter Your Results by selecting the box next to "Dictionary of Literary Biography" under the Publication Title tab. The titles below, although dated, are useful for obtaining background information about your chosen author or identifying an author to research.
Chicano Writers (First Series) [DLB] by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780810345607Publication Date: 1989-06-09also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS129 .D47 v. 82- Chicano Writers (Second Series) [DLB] by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780810345607Publication Date: 1989-06-09also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS129 .D47 v.122
Chicano Writers (Third Series) [DLB] by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0787631035Publication Date: 1999-07-09also available in print, Reference Collection, Call # PS129 .D47 v.209
Notable Latino Writers:
"Surveys approximately 125 major U.S. Latino writers and world Spanish-language writers translated into English who have contributed to the rich heritage of Latino and Hispanic literature."
Notable Latino Writers, A - GAL (Vol. 1) by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9781587652431Publication Date: 2005-10-31
Notable Latino Writers, GAM - TAY (vol. 2) by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1587652463Publication Date: 2005-10-01- Notable Latino Writers, THO - Z (Vol. 3) by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1587652463Publication Date: 2005-10-01Find beginning on p. 739, after the biographical entries, a series of essays on both Latino and Latin American Drama, Long Fiction, Poetry, and Short Fiction.
A companion is a "a handbook intended to be used in connection with the study of a particular subject or field" (ODLIS). Companions typically provide introductory essays and topic overviews.
Companions:
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of Los Angeles by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780521514705Publication Date: 2010-05-06also available in print, General Collection, Call # PS285.L7 C36 2010
A Companion to US Latino Literatures by Call Number: PQ7070 .C66 2010ISBN: 9781855662162Publication Date: 2010-03-18
The Hispanic Literary Companion by Call Number: PS508.H57 H566 1997ISBN: 0787610143Publication Date: 1996-09-01"Presents a collection of writing by thirty-five contemporary writers of Hispanic heritage, and includes brief biographical information about each contributor."
The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature by Call Number: PS153.H56 R68 2015ISBN: 9781138783133Publication Date: 2014-10-03
Handbook:
The Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States: Literature and Art by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1558850740Publication Date: 1994-01-01also available in print, Reference Collection, call # E184.S75 H365 1993 (vols. 1-2)
An encyclopedia is "a book or numbered set of books containing authoritative summary information about a variety of topics in the form of short essays, usually arranged alphabetically by headword or classified in some manner. An entry may be signed or unsigned, with or without illustration or a list of references for further reading" (ODLIS).
Dictionary:
Historical Dictionary of U.S. Latino Literature by Call Number: PS153.H56 U75 2017ISBN: 9781442275485Publication Date: 2016-12-23
Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780816060849Publication Date: 2008-09-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by Call Number: PS153.H56 G74 2008ISBN: 9780313339707Publication Date: 2008-08-30
