English: Home

"Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this groundbreaking series include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others."

"This important primary source database is a collaboration between the American Antiquarian Society (founded 1812) and Gale. It contains the page images of more than 6,500 American magazines and journals.

"The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.” Topics covered in these periodicals include "colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution," as well as concerns such as rapid westward expansion, early industrialization, and regional differences reflected in the growing tension over slavery between North and South. "The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented, documenting the conflict and its aftermath….

"Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.”

Early American Newspapers (EAN), Series 1, 1690-1876 consists of 730 digitized historic American newspapers dating from the advent of the newspaper medium in 1690 through 1876. This critical primary source collection will be useful to anyone interested in researching, for example, the North American British colonies, the formation of the Atlantic World, the American Revolution, and the Early Republic including Antebellum slavery, among many other historical topics. Coverage is national, regional, and local; includes rural areas, small towns, and major urban centers (e.g., Philadelphia). The most frequent users of this database will be history and African American Studies majors as slavery and related themes were widely covered by the mainstream press of the day. Also of great interest to English majors looking for historical reviews and coverage of major literary figures, Women’s and Gender Studies (WGS) majors, and art students seeking early American newspaper illustrations. Finally, individual newspaper titles available from EAN, Series 1 can also be discovered by search the TCNJ Library catalog.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996 offers researchers primary source accounts of international economic, environmental, military, political, and social events. It contains first-hand news coverage translated by experts from the original language (e.g., Arabic, Chinese, Polish, Russian and many others) into English. Media represented include foreign radio and television news broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. These are the reports American diplomats and other U.S. decision makers relied on to understand major events as they unfolded around the globe.

Several of the innumerable topics covered by FBIS include World War II and the Axis powers; the final stages of European colonialism in sub-Saharan Africa; the first decades of apartheid in South Africa; the emergence of postcolonial Arab countries; the creation of Israel; the Iron Curtain and Berlin Wall (including its fall); the superpowers’ Space Race; the Suez and Cuban Missile crises; the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts; the Iranian Revolution; Lech Walesa and Poland's Solidarity movement; the Soviet intervention in Afghanistan; Mikhail Gorbachev and the dissolution of the Soviet Union; and Chinese students’ takeover of Tiananmen Square.

FBIS is the premier TCNJ Library database for researchers looking to find primary sources about the Cold War from a non-U.S. perspective.

This historical newspaper database contains full-text, full-page image access to the digital facsimile of the Times of London. Users can browse, keyword search, view, and download as PDF (or PNG image) files articles, a whole page or range of pages. Boolean searches, truncation, and proximity operators are supported. Advanced search allows users to limit searches by article type (e.g., advertisements, news, people, pictures). The database’s user interface has been upgraded over the years and now incorporates citation generation (w/ RefWorks export), a new image viewer and various printing options. Search terms are highlighted in article results, a helpful feature that reduces time-on-task and eyestrain. Note that this database does not include access to what is a separate title/product titled The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822- .

Official description: "The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events."

TLS Historical Archive (1902-2012) is a primary source database of reviews of major books of fiction and nonfiction published in many languages. It provides a unique record of developments in arts and letters over a period of more than a century. Revered by literary scholars, philosophers, and other humanists, TLS reviews are among the most coveted by researchers. Important literary figures (e.g., Henry James, Virginia Woolf, and T.S. Eliot) wrote for this publication. Recent issues published within the last five years are available in print in the Periodical Stacks, 2nd floor, TCNJ Library.