Humanities Librarian
David C. Murray
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217
Access Note
The books and e-books listed below are recommended by Dr. Konkle or were found by me, your Humanities Librarian.
Gitenstein Library holds all of Dr. Konkle's recommendations in print. Some titles are available as e-books.
Reference Work
For help researching American drama, please see my other libguide titled Literary Forms and Genres: Drama.
Literary Criticism and Biographies: Books and E-Books
Critical Essays on Thornton Wilder by Call Number: PS3545.I345 Z645 1996ISBN: 0816173230Publication Date: 1995-12-01printed book only
Thornton Wilder: New Perspectives by Call Number: PS3545.I345 Z697 2013ISBN: 9780810129214Publication Date: 2013-08-31printed book only
Thornton Wilder and Amos Wilder: Writing Religion in Twentieth-Century America by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780268044244Publication Date: 2011-11-30
Thornton Wilder in Collaboration: Collected Essays on His Drama and Fiction by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 1527508323Publication Date: 2018
To Realize the Universal: Allegorical Narrative in Thornton Wilder's Plays and Novels by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9783034310819Publication Date: 2012-03-12- Thornton Wilder: New Essays by Call Number: PS3545.I345 Z954 1999ISBN: 0933951833Publication Date: 1999-01-01printed book only
Vast Encyclopedia: The Theatre of Thornton Wilder by Call Number: PS3545.I345 Z77 1995ISBN: 0313293562Publication Date: 1995-10-10printed book only
- The Art of Thornton Wilder by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKPublication Date: 1965highly dated but potentially useful criticism
- The Plays of Thornton Wilder: A Critical Study by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKPublication Date: 1967early critical analysis of Wilder's play output
- Thornton Wilder by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKPublication Date: 1986dated but potentially useful criticism
Thornton Wilder by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780816651955Publication Date: 1964-01-01highly dated but potentially useful criticism- Thornton Wilder by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKPublication Date: 1971highly dated but potentially useful criticism
- Thornton Wilder and His Public by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0529057360Publication Date: 1980-01-01written by Thornton's brother, a poet and scholar of religion
Thornton Wilder and the Puritan Narrative Tradition by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9780826216243Publication Date: 2006-01-20your professor's scholarship- Thornton Wilder: The Bright and the Dark by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 069082002XPublication Date: 1972-01-01early critical overview of Wilder's oeuvre
- The Enthusiast: A Life of Thornton Wilder by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0899191975Publication Date: 1983-10-01
- Thornton Wilder: An Intimate Portrait by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0841503923Publication Date: 1975
- Thornton Wilder: His World by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0385128401Publication Date: 1979-08-01