Over 6,000 entries covering all aspects of food and nutrition, diet and health. Covers types of food nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics.
Covers more than a hundred types of food for which health claims have been made. Each entry provides full information on the food's origins, a thorough description, the claims and myths associated with it, and the scientific evidence to support - or refute - these claims.
How to Find...
For answers to many questions about finding resources in the library, check out this general "How to Find..." guide.
For a refresher of IDS 102 [Library research skills and information literacy, online tutorial], go here.
Information on every aspect of American food and drink, discussed within the context of politics; geography; commerce; technology; medicine; class structure; agriculture; and symbolic, spiritual, and ethical values.
Examines every link in the food chain. Forty maps are arranged into sections covering Contemporary Challenges; Farming,;Trade; and Processing, Retailing, and Consumption. A good introduction to the global food system.
Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to policy issues we face today, covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on human populations. Offers geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink.
An introduction to topics in organic, sustainable, and local food and farming. Also provides in-depth information on specialized topics that will inform both general readers as well as experts in the field.
Presents the quantitative and qualitative data and information needed by nutritionists, dieticians, and health care professionals. It proceeds from human development to body systems and disease to micro/macro nutrients and concludes with nutrition counseling and community nutrition.
An A-to-Z reference that focuses on the junk food and fast food phenomena. Includes a timeline, glossary, bibliography, resource guide, and photos. Sample entries: A&W Root Beer; Advertising; Automobiles; Ben & Jerry's; Burger King; Carhops; Center for Science in the Public Interest; Christmas; Cola Wars; Employment; Fair Food; Fast Food Nation; Hershey, Milton; Hollywood; Injury; Krispy Kreme; Lobbying; Nabisco; Obesity; PepsiCo; Salt; Soda Fountain; Teen Hangouts; Vegetarianism; White Castle; Yum! Brands, Inc.
Contains the nutritional, medical, culinary, and consumer information to planning a good diet and to properly handle food. Catalogs the physical, chemical, and medical properties of food; their benefits and hidden dangers; how foods change when they are processed or cooked; how to properly select, prepare, and store food; and more.