Articles
There is a lot of food writing out there! Search these databases for articles from news, popular, and scholarly sources. For more information about finding scholarly articles, see the Library's Research Tips: Finding Scholarly Articles.
- New York TimesFull text articles from 1980 to the present. Good for finding general-interest articles, including in-depth reports from the Sunday New York Times Magazine
- EBSCOhost Academic Search PremierGreat place to start. Includes both news and scholarly sources on a wide range of topics, across many disciplines.
- CQ Press Electronic LibraryFrom CQ (Congressional Quarterly); excellent analysis and explanation of issues in government and politics.
- ABI / Inform GlobalArticles from thousands of business publications, including The Wall Street Journal. Good for finding resources about agribusiness, food manufacturing, food marketing, and food-related legal and environmental issues.
- Sociological AbstractsMultidisciplinary, includes articles on demographics, policy studies and family studies and more.
- Business Source PremierGood for food trends or business/economics issues. Full text articles for more than 8,000 business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications.
- Project MuseScholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Physical Education IndexPhysical Education Index
Useful for finding articles about nutrition and its effects on physical development. - Google ScholarThis is the subset of Google that searches across scholarly publications. Be sure to access Google Scholar via the Library's website, so you can see a link to subscriber-only articles that are available from TCNJ Library.
- Access World NewsNewspaper articles and newswires from United States and abroad. Great Place to start for news related information and topic overviews.
Is It Peer Reviewed (Scholarly)?
- Ulrich's Periodical DirectoryAlready found an article and want to know if the journal is peer reviewed?
Check Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Look for the tiny referee shirt next to the journal name or check under "document type"."
Finding Journals at TCNJ
DOES THE TCNJ LIBRARY HOLD A JOURNAL YOU NEED? FIND OUT HERE.
Tip
You can remove a lot of the quesswork from the process of locating good articles by following one simple strategy: When you find just one relevant article, use the citations at the end of the article as a starting point to find more articles. In other words, see whose work the author has referenced, and see if it may be useful for your work.