FYW 102: Food, Glorious Food: Citing Your Sources

• Everything derived from an outside source, i.e., ideas, information, statistics, etc., must be credited whether it is found in print or via the Internet.  Here is a brief guide to avoiding plagiarism (from Duke University Libraries).

• Style manuals/guides provide instructions and examples of how to format papers, cite sources, and prepare references or bibliographies. For an overview of several different styles, you could consult: Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions and More. PN171.F56 L55 2011 -- there are several print editions in the Library, and another available via Netlibrary.

Save time by using the "create citation" feature from the Library's article databases.

• TCNJ List of Citation and Style Guides
  http://libguides.tcnj.edu/content.php?pid=89000&sid=662420

• Cornell University: Seven Steps of the Research Process
  http://www.library.cornell.edu/olinuris/ref/research/skill1.htm

• Writing Resources (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  http://www.cws.illinois.edu/workshop/writers/

• Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism (Duke University)
  http://library.duke.edu/research/citing/

• Citation Styles and Plagiarism (Emory University)
  http://guides.main.library.emory.edu/content.php?pid=16100&sid=108211

Modern Language Association (MLA)

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Ed.
REF PN147.G444 2008, 1 copy at the Reference Desk

• MLA Style - Frequently Asked Questions (Official style recommendations, including FAQs about citing document sources from the World Wide Web.)
• Northern Michigan University Library MLA Style Guide -- includes citation formats for YouTube videos and other media)

American Psychological Association (APA)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Ed
REF BF76.7.P83 2010, 1 copy at the Reference Desk, 1 copy in the Reference collection

• APAStyle.org (Style tips and official recommendations, including citation guidelines for electronic media.)
• Lynn University Library APA formatting style guide for YouTube videos

• Northern Michigan University Library APA Style guide (includes citation formats for videos and other media)
   

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Ed.
REF Z253.U69 2017, 1 copy at the Reference Desk; 16th edition (2010) in general collection; 14th edition (1993) in general collection

Turabian

A Manual for Writers of Term papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th Ed.
REF LB2369.T8 1996,1 copy at the Reference Desk.

American Anthropological Association Style Guide

American Sociological Association Style (Trinity University Library)

Formatting in Sociology (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based program that allows you to easily collect, manage, and organize bibliographic citations by interfacing with databases. RefWorks also operates directly with MS Word, making it easy to import citations and incorporate them into your writing as properly formatted footnotes or parenthetical citations according to the style of your choice.

• A very brief introduction to RefWorks (YouTube)
• RefWorks LibGuide
  • This is a LibGuide adapted by TCNJ librarians for TCNJ users. 
• RefWorks Video Tutorials
  • This is a quick, straightforward tutorial from the folks at RefWorks on the fundamentals of using their product.

NOTE: The RefWorks providers themselves urge you to examine your citations carefully to make sure they are correctly imported and formatted. You may want to consult one of the Style Guides, such as those found above.