Accessing Datasets Through the TCNJ Library Website
You can find datasets at the Library's Website! This slideshow will show you how. First, search your topic in the search bar on the front page of the website.
(Click the rightward-facing arrow or click and drag the picture to move to the next step).
You can filter your results using the options on the left sidebar.
To filter your search to just datasets, click the "datasets" option within the "Resource Type" section (you may have to hit "show more" to get "datasets" to appear) then click "apply filters".
Hitting "apply filters" should re-load your search results with a list of datasets available through the library website.
Other helpful filters include filtering by subject (so you can make sure your results are relevant to your topic), and...
filtering by year (so you can make sure your search results are relevant to the time period of your topic)
Common Sources of Datasets
Common Sources of Datasets
- Government agencies (e.g., data.gov - source for all the US government's open data)
- Generally free.
- Data format varies widely, so double check it's compatible with your statistical software
- Collected through research to help aid policy decisions
- Also collected to help support the functioning of government work (such as the Food and Drug administration counting the number of adverse reactions to a particular drug, or the Occupational Safety and Health Administration counting workplace injuries).
- Accessible Via: official government websites, TCNJ's Library Website, TCNJ's Library databases, dataset repositories.
- Non-profits or non-governmental organizations (e.g., UNData - source for statistics compiled by the UN)
- May be free or subscription/fee based
- Data format varies widely, so double check it's compatible with your statistical software
- Collected through research to help aid policy decisions
- Accessible Via: official websites, TCNJ's Library Website, TCNJ's Library databases, dataset repositories.
- Dataset databases (aka "dataset repositories"; e.g., the Harvard Dataverse - a collection of datasets from across disciplines)
- Usually subscription/fee based
- Data generally available in formats like SPSS, SAS, Stata or Excel
- Accessible Via: dataset repositories.
Some of the content in this box was adapted with permission from the University of Michigan Library's Finding Data LibGuide
Dataset Collections
Non-specialized
- The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Hosts more than 250,000 datasets covering numerous topics in the social sciences. The vast majority of datasets are free, public use. TCNJ is an ICPSR member institution, allowing our patrons to download datasets directly to their desktops. First-time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account from a campus computer; thereafter, you will need your email address and password to download data. Find tutorials on how to use the site on their Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/icpsrweb
- Data.govThe official dataset repository for the US Government. It Includes over 300,000 datasets relevant to all topics being researched by government entities. Allows users to search by dataset or by the organization that may produce those datasets and includes helpful primers on particular topics such as the ocean, human health, energy, etc.
- DataEuropa.euThe official dataset repository for the European Union. Includes nearly 1.4 million datasets across all disciplines. Perform keyword searches for datasets or browse datasets collected by either topic or "catalog" (collections of datasets produced by particular EU bodies such as the Consumers, Health, Agriculture and Food Executive Agency).
- Harvard DataverseThe Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository of more than 150,000 datasets open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community. Learn how to find and use data within the dataverse here: https://guides.dataverse.org/en/5.10/user/find-use-data.html
- UNDataUNData is the official data repository for the United Nations. It contains over 60 million datapoints collected by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade. In addition to the "datamarts" UNData also curates "Popular Statistical Tables" and "Statistical Profiles" which provide at-a-glance a range of statistics for specific themes (i.e. migration) and specific regions, respectively.
- ZenodoZenodo is a general-purpose data repository built on open source software that accepts all forms of research output from data files to presentation files. It was developed by the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), but is open to researchers from outside the EU. Data is stored in the CERN Data Center, which provides long-term preservation.
Subject-specific
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchThe Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Includes the iPoll question databank, a vast collection of surveys from Gallup, Harris, Roper, the New York Times, and many other organizations covering national public opinion. iPoll searches at the question-level, allowing you to sift through more than half a million questions asked since 1935. See also their topical collections for pre-made tables, graphs, and searches. Roper also provides access to more than 10,000 international surveys. You can search by keyword, by topic, by country, or by organization. Datasets for most studies (those with an X icon) can be downloaded after you register; studies with a green and blue star icon can be analyzed online.
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information, including data on crime, economics, elections, health, and religion. Some international data is included. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
- Data Repositories from the Open Access DirectoryA list of open access or partially open access data repositories covering 15 disciplines across the physical/life sciences, as well as a 16th section on the social sciences.
Statistics Collections
- StatistaStatista is a statistics portal that provides access to data from more than 18,000 sources. Results from customized search queries include lists of statistics, as well as studies and reports (including, in some cases, completed PowerPoint presentations) that place these statistics within a broader context. All data and statistics can be exported as PDFs or Excel files. Additional features include infographics; revenue forecasts on more than 400 industries; extensive coverage of the international digital economy; and “Statistic Dossiers” – comprehensive reports on specific subjects.
- EuroStatEurostat is the statistical agency for the EU. The site provides access to data (monthly, quarterly, and annual data) from 1960 onwards. Topics include: general statistics, regional statistics, economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, services and transport, and intra- extra-EU trade statistics.
- Federal Statistical AgenciesProvides links to the federal government's 16 major producers of statistical data spanning the departments of Commerce, Justice, Labor, Transportation, Treasury Agriculture, Energy, Education, Health and Human Services, as well as the National Science Foundation and Social Security Administration.
Helpful TCNJ Libguides
TCNJ Librarians have already collected and annotated many sources for data and statistics. The guides below will contain links to resources, as well as short summaries of what those resources include.
- Statistical ResourcesProvides lists of major dataset resources, sources specific to New Jersey and the US, international statistics broken down by region, as well as some data visualizers. Most sources have brief descriptions explaining which topic the source covers. The majority of the sources are freely available. Links under the "Major Data Collections" tab are accessible via the TCNJ Library's website.
- MKT 310: Marketing Research: Data & StatisticsThe Data & Statistics page of the broader Marketing research LibGuide. It links to freely accessible resources about COVID-19, TCNJ, industry trends and statistics, and national level economic, demographic, and education indicators. It also provides links to books about data use and visualization that are available at the Library.
- Public Health: Statistical Data and ResourcesThe Statistical Data and Resources page within the broader Public Health LibGuide. It includes links to freely accessible sources covering a broad range of public health topics broken down into the NJ, national, and international levels.
- WGS 498: Feminist Research and Methods: Statistics and DataThe Statistics & Data page of the broader Feminist Research and Methods LibGuide. It includes freely accessible links to national-level data/statistical resources covering Education and Women, Gender, and Sexuality.
Evaluating Datasets
Found datasets using the resources above? Click here for suggestions about how to evaluate them.