Remove Extra Words
Databases searches work best when only the most essential keywords are used. This is because databases try to match the words you give them to the information they have about particular datasets (titles, creators, descriptions etc.). So, search with a few keywords/key-phrases ensures the database only matches datasets using those very relevant words.
(Click the rightward facing arrow below, or click and drag the picture itself, for an example).
Databases searches work best when only the most essential keywords are used. This is because databases try to match the words you give them to the information they have about particular datasets (titles, creators, descriptions etc.). So, search with a few keywords/key-phrases ensures the database only matches datasets using those very relevant words.
Brainstorm Synonyms and Use Varied Search Terms
Databases don't understand some words are synonymous. So, searching for "income" might not get you relevant resources that use the word "wealth" instead. Therefore, it's helpful to brainstorm and search using synonyms for your search terms in addition to your original terms.
(Click through the slideshow below for an example)
Databases don't understand some words are synonymous. So, searching for "income" might not get you relevant resources that use the word "wealth" instead. Therefore, it's helpful to brainstorm and search using synonyms for your search terms in addition to your original terms.
(Click through the slideshow below for an example)
Use Filters to Narrow Your Results
After making a search, ddataset sources often provide ways of narrowing down your results. Look on the left sidebar to see if you can filter by subject, filetype, data the data was collected, or other useful criteria. See some examples below:
Other tips
- Not sure where to find relevant datasets? TCNJ Librarians can help! Get in touch by:
- Using Ask A Librarian to talk through a variety of methods (chat, email, phone, etc.).
- Contacting the relevant subject specialist
- Check to see if there is a guide on datasets/statistical resources for your topic or discipline
- Keep in mind that your dataset might be a smaller subsection of some larger dataset. For example, can find housing prices in a particular town? Try searching by state or county and see if that dataset includes a town-level breakdown.
- Third, look for articles that discuss your topic. Do they cite a dataset or statistics? If so, which ones?
Starting Your Search
Click here for a list of places to start searching for datasets.