MKT 310: Marketing Research: Finding Articles

DOES THE TCNJ LIBRARY HAVE A JOURNAL YOU NEED?  FIND OUT HERE.

FIND ARTICLES / SCHOLARLY RESEARCH ABOUT YOUR TOPIC

Library resources online

Business publications

ABI / Inform Global: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/abiinform-global/

• Change search interface from Basic to Advanced
• Search for keywords and phrases (in Citation and document text), then use suggested search terms (or Subject terms from relevant results) to refine search
• Sort results by type: scholarly journals, newspapers, trade publications, etc.
• Sort results by relevance (or by date)

If the full text of the article does not appear within ABI / Inform (or any other article database), then follow the link to Search for Full Text.

Business Source Premier: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/business-source-premier/

• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search
• Search for keywords and phrases
• Sort results by type: academic journals, magazines, trade publications, etc.
• Sort results by relevance (or by date)
• Use Subject terms from relevant results to refine search

Education publications

ERIC: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/eric/

• Choose Advanced Search; or use the Thesaurus to find all the terms related to your concept(s), then select relevant search terms
• Use the History/Combine Searches tab to create different combinations of concepts and search terms
• Refine your search with Descriptors from relevant results
• From the ERIC citation, find the article by following the link to Search for Full Text. [In ERIC, journal articles have accession numbers beginning with EJ; other ERIC documents have accession numbers beginning with ED, and the full text should be linked to the citation.]

Health and Exercise Science publications

Sports Medicine & Health Education Index: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/physical-education-index/

• Choose Advanced Search; or select the Search Tools tab and then use the Thesaurus to find all the terms related to your concept(s); then select relevant terms and run your search
• Use the History/Combine Searches tab to create different combinations of concepts and search terms
• Refine your search with Descriptors from relevant results

Psychology publications

PsycINFO: https://library.tcnj.edu/find/databases-a-z/psycinfo/

• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search.
• Search for keywords and phrases.
• Sort results by type: academic journals, magazines, trade publications, etc. Sort results by relevance (or by date).
• Use Subject terms from relevant results to refine search.

Communications Studies publications

Communication & Mass Media Complete
https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/communication-mass-media-complete/

• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search. Search for keywords and phrases.
• Refine results with subject terms from relevant results
• Note that relevant search terms include phrases such as "survey design", "survey methods", etc.

Libraries and Librarianship publications

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/library-information-science-technology-abstracts-lista/

• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search. Search for keywords and phrases.
• Refine results with subject terms from relevant results
• Note that relevant search terms include phrases such as "survey design", "questionnairess", etc.

Multidisciplinary publications (including Business and Education)

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost): https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/academic-search-premier/

• Includes articles from the Chronicle of Higher Education)
• Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search. Search for keywords and phrases.

Wilson OmniFile - Full Text Mega Edition: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/wilson-web/

• includes articles from the Chronicle of Higher Education
• Select relevant subject area (Business, Education, etc.) / Search for keywords and phrases
• "College students/attitudes" is a term that can be used as a search subject

Access World News: https://library.tcnj.edu/search-tools/databases-a-z/access-world-news-newsbank/

• includes articles from college and university newspapers;
• first, run a search using likely search terms (e.g. college athletics and attendance)
• from search results page, use the left-side menu to limit your results to College/University Newspapers
• Add more rows to refine your search with additional search terms (e.g. survey, attitudes, etc.)

If you are not able to come to campus to retrieve a book from the library, then you may have other options. 

One option is to request a copy of an e-version of the book (if available) via interlibrary loan (ILL).  For more information about ILL, as well as a link to the online request form, see the ILL LibGuide.

Another option is to request electronic delivery of a single chapter from a book. The Document Delivery LibGuide describes this process and includes a link to the online request form. In order to determine which chapter from a book might be most useful to you, try looking at the detailed book description from the library discovery tool, specifically the Contents Note; this is an example from a book cited elsewhere on this page: Conducting online surveys.  You may be able to find more information about each chapter by searching for the book in Amazon or Goodreads, and selecting the link to "open preview" or "look inside."  Google Books might provide a more expansive preview. If available preview pages includes an index, then you may be able to use the index to determine which chapter(s) include the pages where your specific topic of interest appears.