Selected Titles
Featured:
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by Call Number: DA28 .095 2004ISBN: 019861411XPublication Date: 2004-09-23The ODNB is the standard reference work for British biography. Extensive bibliographic essays accompany many entries. Obtain profiles of over 2,400 poets from the United Kingdom, Ireland, and Commonwealth.
Most up-to-date:
Critical Survey of Poetry: American Poets (4th ed. in 4 vols.) by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781587655838Publication Date: 2011-04-30"Noteworthy is that, along with well-known poets, long-neglected writers receive recognition in the four American Poets volumes" (Choice). Check here first to find a poet or to see if your chosen (American) poet has an entry.
Critical Survey of Poetry: Contemporary Poets (4th ed. in 2 vols.) by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781642652796Publication Date: 2019-10-01"Edited by independent scholar D. Alan Dean, Contemporary Poets focuses on poets active from the 1960s to the present... The two-volume set features profiles of 200 poets and 21 essays on movements and themes, supplemented by a glossary, a time line, a list of major award recipients, and an index. Each poet profile provides a listing of principal works, a brief biography, discussion of major works, and a selection of further readings" (Choice). Particularly useful is the "Schools and Movements" section that begins on p. 345 (v.2).
Also great:
Asian American Poets: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook by Call Number: PS153.A84 A826 2002ISBN: 0313318093Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources by Call Number: PS153.M56 C66 2004ISBN: 0313324840Publication Date: 2004-04-30
Contemporary American Women Poets: An A-to-Z Guide by Call Number: PS151 .C665 2002ISBN: 0313317836Publication Date: 2002-11-30
Contemporary Poets (7th ed.) by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 9781558623491Publication Date: 2000-09-28
Female Poets of America: With Portraits, Biographical Notices, and Specimens of Their Writings by Call Number: HathiTrust E-BOOKISBN: 0810342901Publication Date: 1978 (1857)Information about colonial and other Early American women poets originally published in the mid-1800s.
The Heritage Series of Black Poetry, 1962-1975: A Research Compendium by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780754657828Publication Date: 2008-03-26
Open web:
American poetry:
Blackwell:
A Concise Companion to Twentieth-Century American Poetry by Call Number: PS323.5 .C574 2005ISBN: 1405120037Publication Date: 2005-06-10
Cambridge:
Gitenstein Library provides access to several additional poetry e-titles in the Cambridge Companions series. To find these titles, perform a Publications search in Literature Online (LION) for <Cambridge Companion Poet*> In Title.
The Cambridge Companion to American Poetry Since 1945 by Call Number: PS323.5 .C27 2013ISBN: 0521766958Publication Date: 2013-02-08
The Cambridge Companion to American Poets by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781107123823Publication Date: 2015-10-15also available in print, General Stacks (3rd floor), call # PS303 .C287 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Modern American Poetry by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781107040366Publication Date: 2015-01-19also available in print, General Stacks (3rd floor), call # PS323.5 .C28 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Twenty-First-Century American Poetry by Call Number: PS617 .C36 2021ISBN: 9781108482097Publication Date: 2021-03-11print only
American, English, and world poetry:
Cambridge:
The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry by Call Number: PQ7082.P7 C23 2018ISBN: 9781107197695Publication Date: 2018-03-22print only
The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Poetry by Call Number: PR9082 .C36 2017ISBN: 9781107090712Publication Date: 2017-02-27print only
Oxford:
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780585261690Publication Date: 1994-01-01
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry by Call Number: PR601 .O94 2013ISBN: 9780199640256Publication Date: 2013-07-18print only
English and Irish poetry:
Blackwell:
A Companion to Renaissance Poetry by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781118585191Publication Date: 2018-02-20
A Companion to Romantic Poetry by Call Number: PR590 .C58 2011ISBN: 9781405135542Publication Date: 2010-12-13print only
A Companion to Victorian Poetry by Call Number: PR591 .C66 2002ISBN: 0631222073Publication Date: 2002-10-11print only
A Concise Companion to Postwar British and Irish Poetry [Blackwell] by Call Number: PR603 .C66 2009ISBN: 1405129247Publication Date: 2009-04-27print only
Cambridge:
Gitenstein Library provides access to several additional poetry e-titles in the Cambridge Companions series. To find these titles, perform a Publications search in Literature Online (LION) for <Cambridge Companion Poet*> In Title.
The Cambridge Companion to British Poetry, 1945-2010 by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781107090668Publication Date: 2015-12-17also available in print, General Stacks (3rd floor), call # PR601 .C36 2016
The Cambridge Companion to British Romantic Poetry by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 0521862353Publication Date: 2008-09-04also available in print, General Stacks (3rd floor), call # PR590 .C34 2008
The Cambridge Companion to English Poets by Call Number: PR503 .C36 2011ISBN: 0521697034Publication Date: 2011-01-27print only
The Cambridge Companion to Irish Poets by Call Number: PR8761 .C36 2018ISBN: 9781108420358Publication Date: 2017-11-16print only
The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century British and Irish Women's Poetry by Call Number: PR605.W6 C36 2011ISBN: 9780521197854Publication Date: 2011-03-17
The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century English Poetry by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9780521691321Publication Date: 2007-12-13also available in print, General Stacks (3rd floor), call # PR603 .C36 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian Women's Poetry by Call Number: PR595.W6 C36 2019ISBN: 9781107182479Publication Date: 2019-03-14print only
Dictionaries:
The Dictionary of Poetic Terms by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 1574411667Publication Date: 2003-07-24also available in print, Reference Stacks (1st floor), call # PN1042 .M93 2003
The Poetry Dictionary (2nd ed.) by Call Number: PN1021 .D78 1995ISBN: 1884910041Publication Date: 1995-09-15
Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: the Nineteenth Century by Call Number: PS316 .E53 2015ISBN: 1579580084Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: the Twentieth Century by Call Number: PS323.5 .E53 2001ISBN: 1579582400Publication Date: 2001-06-01
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry (in 5 vols.) by Call Number: PS303 .G74 2006ISBN: 031332381XPublication Date: 2005-12-30print only
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by Call Number: PN1021 .N39 1993ISBN: 0691032718Publication Date: 1993-05-09
American, English, and world poetry:
The New Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0691036713Publication Date: 1994-05-22
The Princeton Handbook of Multicultural Poetries by Call Number: PN1021 .N392 1996ISBN: 0691001685Publication Date: 1996-01-11
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781400880638Publication Date: 2016-11-22
English poetry:
The Oxford Handbook of British Poetry, 1660-1800 by Call Number: PR564 .O94 2016ISBN: 9780199600809Publication Date: 2016-12-20print only
The Oxford Handbook of Victorian Poetry by Call Number: PR591 .O94 2013ISBN: 9780199576463Publication Date: 2013-12-31print only
These classic indexes can be useful when you are looking for a poem but don't have complete information about it. Find poems by author or subject.
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies (13th ed.) by Call Number: PN1022 .H39 2007ISBN: 0231139888Publication Date: 2007-01-30print only
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works (2nd ed.) by Call Number: PN1022 .C63 2004ISBN: 0231125283Publication Date: 2004-02-25print only
