AAH 370: The Arts of Ancient Mesoamerica

Academic Search Premier is the Libraries most comprehensive, interdisciplinary journal database; It provides full-text access to more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals, several of which are relevant to the study of ancient Mesoamerica. Coverage begins about 1975.

Anthropology Plus offers broad coverage of anthropology literature, including articles, conference papers, and reports. Combines Anthropological Index Online, which offers access to hundreds of journals from the British Museum’s Anthropology Library, and Anthropological Literature, which is published by the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology at Harvard University. Covers a range of fields (including physical anthropology, biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, ethnology, human ecology, religious studies, folklore, linguistics, museum studies, and art history) from within anthropology and related disciplines.

AnthroSource is the full-text e-journal collection of the American Anthropological Association. All journals can be searched through a single interface. Through seamless integration with JSTOR, AnthroSource provides complete journal runs, including American Anthropologist from 1888 through the most recent issue. By using the “My Profile” feature, users can establish a list of favorite journals and set up RSS feeds that provide notifications when new issues are published. This database contains the general and section journals of the American Anthropological Association.

Most researchers will already be familiar with the regular Google search engine, so the learning curve for Google Scholar is minimal. Go to Settings > Library links, and then search for The College of New Jersey. Select the box next to our college and then click the Save button (cookies must be enabled). Now look for the link to "Find Full-Text @ TCNJ Library" to see if Gitenstein Library can provide immediate access to the resource needed.

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and Vanderbilt University "provide access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles in the area’s major languages. Most of the articles indexed in LAPTOC were published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication." This databases is a component of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP), University of Texas at Austin.

Provides article abstracts for thousands of scholarly journals (1964-date) that focus on the history of North America from prehistoric times to the present.

CLACSO, a network of 224 social sciences institutions in 21 Latin American and Caribbean countries, has teamed up with RedALyC (see below) to provide free online access to 83 full-text social sciences journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. To facilitate the searching of multiple journals simultaneously, CLACSO-RedALyC created an open-access portal to the full-text articles of 83 journals from 17 countries. The plan is to provide indexed access to 120 full-text journals by the end of 2009. There are also plans for the CLACSO data to be harvested by LANIC and others.

Offers the complete text of over 20,000 articles from 200 journals. Title coverage includes Revista Brasileira de Historia, Revista Mexicana del Caribe, and Signo Historicos, among others. Open access courtesy of the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico.