To find SWOT analysis and full company reports (30+ pages) from Datamonitor / MarketLine (and from other sources):
From the menu at the top of the page [above the search box], choose Company Profiles, then search or browse by company name (try both, the index is inexact)
Or from the main menu, change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search
Search for a company (e.g."samsung"), then specify Company Entity in the accompanying search box
Add "SWOT" as a search term; or
Scroll down to specifyDocument Type: Company report
In addition to the search results displayed in the center of the page, look for the link to Company Profiles at the right side of the page.
Search for company name, and add relevant keywords and phrases such as "strategic planning," or "competition," or "new product development"
Other relevant search terms include "marketing strategy", "trends", "sales forecast", "financial performance", etc.
Use other subject terms from relevant results to refine your search
ABI/Inform Global - In addition to articles on general topics in business and management, this database includes company reports.
Change search interface from Basic to Advanced
Search by company name (e.g. "nokia"), then specify Company/Organization in the accompanying search box
Search for keywords that describe your concept (such as "financial performance"), then use suggested search terms (or subject terms from relevant results) to refine your search
Note that "investment policy," "corporate profiles," "equities and bonds," "market data" or "earnings per share" are all examples of viable search terms; other potentially relevant search terms include "forecast," "trends" and "case study"
Combine the company name with the search phrase "fair disclosure wire" to find transcripts of conference calls
IBIS World - comprehensive market research reports on more than 700 US industries, classified at the 5-digit NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) level. Additionally, more than 600 “super-niche” industries are covered. Each report is presented in a standard format that includes an industry overview, competitive landscape, operating conditions, key statistics, and industry outlook.
Plunkett Research Online - Offers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, market research, sales leads & corporate profiles in a variety of formats. Plunkett also provides links to a comprehensive list of associations related to each industry that it covers. Associations can be an excellent resource for authoritative industry information. [Also see: Encyclopedia of Associations]
ABI/Inform Global - In addition to articles on topics in business and management, this database includes company and industry reports.
Change search interface from Basic to Advanced
Search by industry name (e.g. "telecommunication"), then scroll down to specify ; or
Search for keywords that describe your industry (or search for a specific company within an industry), then use suggested search terms (or subject terms from relevant results) to refine your search
Change search interface from Basic Search to Advanced Search
Search for an industry (e.g."pharmaceutical industry"), then scroll down to specifyDocument Type: Industry Overview; or
To find industry reports from MarketLine [see above], combine the phrase "industry profile" in one search box with a relevant word or phrase (e.g. "pharmaceutical") in the next search box. To find an industry report that mentions a specific company in the industry, combine "industry profile" with the name of a company in the industry (e.g. "Merck") -- and change the accompanying search box to All Text
Search for company names, keywords and phrases, then use Subject terms from relevant results to refine your search for an industry.
From company results, you can also view news, financials, company summaries, etc.
Scroll down to Sector Summary to choose a high-level industry sector (e.g. "Healthcare"); after choosing a major industry sector, browse the sub-categories (and sub-sub-categories) for the most relevant industry (e.g. "Biotechnology & Drugs")
Links include SEC filings, industry reports, insider transactions, and an insider roster
After looking up a specific company, from the left-side menu, select the "industry" tab to learn more about the industry; or follow this link to the Yahoo! Finance "Industries" section
For current and historical financial news and filings. Usually found under "Investor Relations", "For Investors" or "Corporate" section of site (sometimes this is buried at the bottom of the web page)
Search the full text of SEC filings such as 10Ks and others from the mid-1990s forward. You can search across multiple companies at once, or an individual company.
A brief tutorial on how to search the EDGAR database is available here.