Journalism & Professional Writing

Vast archive of social science data (7,000 data collections and over 500,000 individual data files in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats) including government studies and polls and surveys conducted by organizations and individual researchers. Special topic archives include the Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA), Child Care and Early Education (Research Connections), Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences (Data-PASS), Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR), the Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD), the National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD), Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN), the National Addicition & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP), and the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA).

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Includes the iPoll question databank, a vast collection of surveys from Gallup, Harris, Roper, the New York Times, and many other organizations covering national public opinion.

Statista is a statistics portal that provides access to data from more than 18,000 sources. Results from customized search queries include lists of statistics, as well as studies and reports (including, in some cases, completed PowerPoint presentations) that place these statistics within a broader context.

From the Statistics Department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the International Financial Statistics (IFS) database contains approximately 32,000 time series data covering more than 200 countries and areas from 1948 to the present. IFS is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.