WGS 200: Women, Culture, and Society: Primary Sources

Database in American women’s history, it includes more than 70 document projects, each of which poses a topic and provides a collection of documents, images and links to websites to address the topic.

Primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Descriptions and links to over 600 digital collections.

(1851-2003) Provides full text access to the New York Times up to three years ago.

(1890 - 1982) A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.

Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.

(1936-1972) a great documentary record of a significant part of 20th century U.S. history and culture

A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Library of Congress American Memory collections.

Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

A collection of 2,024 recordings from all five Pacifica Radio sister stations - highlighting both Pacifica's contributions to the women's movement as well as women's unique contributions to Pacifica Radio programming from 1963-1982.

Core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines.

Digitized images and documents

Digital Schomburg -- exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.

Full-text database of thousands of titles published prior to 1930, and many published more recently. Use the advanced search to limiting by title and date published.

A collaborative database consisting of more than 2,300 letters handwritten or narrated by Florence Nightingale that for the first time are now available to researchers through a single source.

This ten-volume series (covering decades throughout the twentieth century) provides access to a wealth of primary sources specific to major events. While the series does not focus exclusively on women's history, relevant documents are included: for example, volume ten includes (among other relevant sources) text from the report of the American Association of University Women on How Schools Shortchange Girls, and Hillary Rodham Clinton's 1995 speech on how "Women's Rights are Human Rights."

MAKERS is a women's leadership platform that highlights the stories of groundbreaking women today to create the leaders of tomorrow — it is the largest collection of women's stories ever assembled. MAKERS encompasses broadcast documentaries, web and mobile-first video content, and live events. Today, MAKERS.com features over 3,000 videos and the stories of more than 300 women.

manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.

Collection of 48 Oral histories (filmed) that provide a complex portrait of Rosie the Riveter, taking the viewer beyond the iconic "We Can Do It" poster girl and deep into the experiences real Rosies from diverse backgrounds, challenging the popular perception of women in American History.

Documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century. Narrators include labor, peace, and anti-racism activists; artists and writers; lesbian rights advocates; grassroots anti-violence and anti-poverty organizers; and women of color reproductive justice leaders. Interviews average 5-6 hours and cover childhood, personal life, and political work.

Accounts of individuals throughout the world who have made important contributions to the field. Reflecting the voices and perspectives of advocates, communication specialists, lawyers, managers, physicians, researchers, social workers and others, the series addresses the historical period 1965-2005.

A collection of life histories of women who have dedicated their lives to social and political activism. The project documents both the diversity and the persistence of women's activism, as organizers and as cultural workers, in a variety of social movements such as women's health, economic justice, LGBT liberation, peace, education, and environmental sustainability.

Collection of life histories of women who identify as lesbian, bisexual, woman-identified-woman, queer, or who prefer not to identify with sexuality categories. The project provides a complex and nuanced collective story of American lesbian history and experience.