LibGuides: WGS 200: Women, Culture, and Society: Finding Books

Reference sources

Use E-encyclopedias and handbooks for background research and to learn more about a topic.

Subject headings

Search for books in the library catalog using these subject headings:

Suffragists biography
Feminists biography
Feminism
Feminists
Women
also: African American women, Hispanic American women, etc.; Abused women, Minority women, Working class women
Women Identity
Women Psychology
Women Socialization
Women Employment
Women Legal status, laws, etc.
Women's rights
Women Political activity
Women Social conditions
Leadership in women

Finding Books

From the Library home page, type words related to your topic into the search box, then change "Online Materials Only" to "Books & Media" in the dropdown on the right. The results will include most materials the library owns including books, videos, and audio recordings.

**For eBooks held by the library, choose "Available Online" or limit to eBooks on the left menu.

Gitenstein Library offers curbside pickup for books. You can also request scans of a chapter or two from books that are in the collection using Document Delivery Services, (under the "Get it for Me" tab on the library homepage). Usually we can only scan 1 or 2 chapters due to copyright.

Sources for eBooks during Covid

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Google Books
Open-access, full-text database of thousands of titles published prior to 1930. New books may have portions available, such as introductions, which would give you the main gist of the book, and tell you which chapters to focus on (and request through Document Delivery).