Scholarly Credentials Toolkit for TCNJ Faculty: Abstracting and Indexing Databases

(Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women’s studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the “image collections” icon.

Enter any combination of cited author, title, source, or year and then click the "Search" button. Mark the appropriate check box or boxes and then click "Find Citing Articles" to retrieve a list of articles that cite the article(s) under consideration. If no check box appears it means that no works indexed in the database cite that article.

Standard keyword searches can result in article citations that include "Cited References (X)" and "Times Cited in this Database (X)." Clicking on the former results in a list of records cited in the original article (i.e. in a standard bibliography of works quoted or consulted by the author of the original article). Clicking on the latter, in contrast, results in a list of articles that subsequently cited the original article.

(1964-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including state and local history journals and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields each year. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database.

Enter any combination of cited author, title, source, or year and then click the "Search" button. Mark the appropriate check box or boxes and then click "Find Citing Articles" to retrieve a list of articles that cite the article(s) under consideration. If no check box appears it means that no works indexed in the database cite that article.

Standard keyword searches can result in article citations that include "Cited References (X)" and "Times Cited in this Database (X)." Clicking on the former results in a list of records cited in the original article (i.e. in a standard bibliography of works quoted or consulted by the author of the original article). Clicking on the latter, in contrast, results in a list of articles that subsequently cited the original article.

(1954-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year over 20,000 new citations are added to the Historical Abstracts database.

(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.