Scholarly Credentials Toolkit for TCNJ Faculty: Book Reviews

(Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women’s studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the “image collections” icon.

(1964-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including state and local history journals and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields each year. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database.

(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.

(1954-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year over 20,000 new citations are added to the Historical Abstracts database.

(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1995.) Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text for periodical articles and reviews from English language periodicals. Subjects include archaeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

(Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) A full text, full image archive of over 120 journals. Coverage of journals generally begins with their first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Subject strengths are African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics/finance, general science, history, literature, math/statistics, philosophy, political science, population/demography, and sociology.

If you are not a librarian or information scientist use these reviews sparingly and with caution, taking note for example of a title's status as scholarly or peer-reviewed. Librarian-oriented review articles are often unwelcome by disciplinary tenure committees. This bibliographic database indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

(Date: various) specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community college and undergraduates. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories, author interviews, classic texts.

(1963-) Indexes journal articles, book chapters, proceedings, working papers and bibliographies for literature, linguistics and folkore.

(1980-Current) Provides full text access to the New York Times. New York Times provides information on a wide variety of topics including national and international news, biographies, social and economic issues, the arts, literature, music, the sciences, business, and much more. The database may be searched by author, dates, keywords, and title. Editorials, reviews, obituaries, photos, illustrations, and ads are included. Individual articles or the whole page may be viewed.

(1851-2008) Provides full text access to the New York Times up to three years ago. Historical New York Times provides information on a wide variety of topics including national and international news, biographies, social and economic issues, the arts, literature, music, the sciences, business, and much more. The database may be searched by author, dates, keywords, and title. Editorials, reviews, obituaries, photos, illustrations, and ads are included. Individual articles or the whole page may be viewed.

(1940 to the present.) Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education. Covers both books and 480 scholarly journals published in English, German, French, Italian and Spanish. The book reviews in the print version of Philosopher’s Index are excluded from the online version.

(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.

(1890 – 1982) Readers’ Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Subjects covered include Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel.

Approximately 10% of search results will be full-text accessible from within the database. For all others click "Search for Full Text" to determine if the article you are looking for is available in another Gitenstein Library database, in print or microfilm in the physical library, or whether you will have to request it through our interlibrary loan service.

Also consider checking the Free Serials directory maintained by Penn Libraries.

This historical newspaper database contains full-text, full-page image access to the digital facsimile of the Times of London. Users can browse, keyword search, view, and download as PDF (or PNG image) files articles, a whole page or range of pages. Boolean searches, truncation, and proximity operators are supported. Advanced search allows users to limit searches by article type (e.g., advertisements, news, people, pictures). The database’s user interface has been upgraded over the years and now incorporates citation generation (w/ RefWorks export), a new image viewer and various printing options. Search terms are highlighted in article results, a helpful feature that reduces time-on-task and eyestrain. Note that this database does not include access to what is a separate title/product titled The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822- .

Official description: "The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events."