FSP: Sequential art & the storytelling space: Better bibliographies, more easily (RefWorks)

Get started with the self-guided lessons in this worksheet.

OR

Explore some of the other materials on the Video and handouts page of this guide

OR

If you are part of a group of people using RefWorks (e.g., for a project or for a class), consider requesting a training session. Send an email to: oliverj@tcnj.edu. We can set up a small-group training at a time that's convenient for you!

Need to pull together your references for a paper or presentation? Click HERE for a detailed guide to using RefWorks.

RefWorks: Why Bother? video

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA.

Why RefWorks? Comparison chart with other bibliographic managers.

Access

You can connect to RefWorks through the TCNJ Library Homepage databases A-Z --or bookmark this more direct link to the TCNJ database page. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

• If you are prompted to login by first providing a subscriber group code, our group code is: RWCNewJersey.

Creating Formatted Bibliographies

To generate a reference list, use the Bibliography menu and select your desired output style.

Getting Help

An extensive RefWorks Quick Start Guide is available for your convenience. Please refer to the RefWorks tutorial and RefWorks help pages for additional information on using RefWorks, and Ask a Librarian for more help with RefWorks.

 

Thanks to Linda Blake of West Virginia University for letting us use her guide as a basis for this guide.

Here is the worksheet that we recommend for a self-guided introduction to RefWorks. It provides a tour of RefWorks' most important features.