Skip to main content

FSP: Sequential art & the storytelling space: Start here!

Ask a Librarian

Library research tutorial

If you are new to TCNJ or research, why not spend some time working through the library research tutorial? Each module takes only about 15 minutes, but it could save you hours in the long term!

Quick Reference - Finding Articles On Comics and Superheros

For more detailed information please see the "Scholarly Journals Article" tab.

Articles are most easily found in "databases" or "electronic indexes" or "research database."  

Each of these contains articles about superheros and comics. (The question is whether your more specific topic is covered.) So you might need to look in multiple places:


If you do not know the name of a relevant database, take a look at the list of subjects under the Articles tab.

Browse Databases By Subject

Now search the database by keyword or by subject (example: superheroes and psychology). Taking time to think about your keywords will help improve your results.
 

Time-saver: Some databases permit you to limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed journals.

Books of Interest

For suggestions about looking more comprehensively for books, check out the "Books" tab in this guide.

But here are some suggestions that jumped out when prepping for this class:

A few websites on comics and superheros

Below are a few selected websites that seem to discuss comics and superheros with a somewhat academic approach.


 


 

Time-saver:

Here's how I found these (an advanced Google Ninja trick): Google search library comics|superhero|superheroes site:.edu (the | symbol allows you to use "OR" combination like we talked about, the "site:.edu" limits your search to sites from academic organizations, and the "library" part helps because librarians are the kinds of folks who post helpful sites like this.)

 

 

TCNJ Library

 

TCNJ Library
P.O. Box 7718
2000 Pennington Rd.
Ewing, NJ 08628

Access Services - 609.771.2311

Media Services - 609.771.3235

Reference - 609.771.2417