Article search: getting started | Interlibrary loan for articles not available at TCNJ
For a refresher on how to search for articles, review the relevant content (find articles) from IDS102 (Library research skills and information literacy).
If you identify an article that is not available to you from TCNJ, then you can request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan (ILL).
Finding pre-prints in arXiv
Sometimes the scholarly conversations in mathematics and statistics are happening too fast for journal publishers to keep up. To find the most recent pre-prints (not yet published) articles about a topic you're exploring, try searching in arXiv, described as "a free distribution service and an open-access archive for ... scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics." More information and strategies for searching arXive for mathematics is available in this guide prepared by the University of Michigan Library.
Finding Journals at TCNJ
Does TCNJ Library hold a journal (either online or in print) that you're looking for? Find out here. Or follow the "Journals by Title" link from the library homepage.
Tip
You can remove a lot of the guesswork from the process of locating good articles by following one simple strategy: When you find a relevant article, use the citations at the end of the article as a starting point to find more articles. In other words, look at whose work the author has referenced, and see if that work may be also be useful for your information-finding.
Subscription databases at TCNJ
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database, created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society, covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It includes subject indexing of recent and forthcoming mathematical publications, as well as reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Articles from approximately 1,700 current serials and journals are reviewed, with more than 90,000 reviews added to the database each year. Links are provided to the full text of many articles. when available. Searching or browsing is enabled by the Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) a detailed classification scheme covering the various branches of mathematics. [Note that a beta version of a new MathSciNet search interface is now available.]
JSTOR functions primarily as an archival collection of older journal articles -- including articles from journals in mathematics and statistics. While JSTOR can be searched independently, keep in mind that journal issues from the most recent three to six years may not yet be accessible through this archive.
Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including mathematics and statistics, as well as biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
Research databases -- free online
Google Scholar is the subset of Google that yields search results from scholarly (academic) publications. Be sure to access Google Scholar via TCNJ Library, so that search results will include links to content that may be available only from TCNJ subscription databases.
PubMed provides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of bibliographic citations and abstracts for the biomedical sciences, including biostatistics and topics related to mathematical modelling in health and medicine. Be sure to access PubMed via TCNJ Library, so that search results will include links to content that may be available only from TCNJ subscription databases.
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index (with some full text) to publications in statistics, probability and related fields. CIS indexes the entire contents of over 160 core journals, in most cases from 1975 (or first issue if later) to 2017. CIS also includes data from about 1,200 additional journals (cumulatively) in related fields, and 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975. Formerly published by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association, CIS is now hosted by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). More information about the history of CIS, along with some tips for searching the database and fine-tuning your results, are included in this blog post from the AMS.
Subject Guide
