LibGuides: HIS 109: Ancient Egypt and Its Neighbors: Art and Artifacts

Featured Artifacts

circa 3200-3000 BCE. Egyptian Museum, Cairo

circa 2600 BCE. British Museum, London.

circa 883-859 BCE, Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY

circa 3rd - 4th century BCE, Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY

circa 550-330 BCE, Museum of the Oriental Institute, University of Chicago

196 BCE, The British Museum, London.

c. 7th-6th century BCE, Vorderasiatisches Museum, Berlin

The British Museum
You can browse the complete collection of the British Museum online, including objects not on display, simply type in the region or civilization you are interested in.
The Brooklyn Museum
The Brooklyn Museum has an excellent collection of Egyptian artifacts, as well as a collection of Assyrian artifacts.
Harvard Museum of the Ancient Near East
Use this link to virtually tour the museum which houses artifacts from Israel, Egypt, and Mesopotamia.
The Louvre
You can search the Louvre collections or browse created collections. When searching, use the French spellings: Egypte (Egypt), Assyrie (Assyria), Perse (Persia), Syrie (Syria).
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
You can preview the collections of the Met through this link. Check out the Ancient Near Eastern Collection or the Egyptian Collection.
The Penn Museum
This site allows you to view objects on display in the galleries. Check out the Sphinx, Canaan and Israel, Middle East, and Classical World galleries.
Rijksmuseum van Oudheden
This museum houses the Near Eastern and Egyptian collections of the Netherlands.