LibGuides: HIS 109: Ancient Egypt and Its Neighbors: Articles

Locating Articles

You can use the library's Journal Search to search by title for individual journals that may contain articles relevant to your research. Here are some prominent subscription journals which cover the civilizations of the Ancient Near East:

Journal of Near Eastern Studies (JNES) Back issues available from 1942 - 2014 on JSTOR.
Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions Back issues available from 2002 - 2017 on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier.
Near Eastern Archaeology (NEA) Back issues available from 1998 - 2016 on JSTOR.
Biblical Archaeologist (now NEA) All issues available from 1938 - 1997 on JSTOR.
Journal of the American Oriental Society Available from 1843 - 2017 on JSTOR and 2017 - current on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier.
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research (BASOR) Back issues available from 1921 - 2015 on JSTOR.
Journal of Cuneiform Studies Back issues available from 1947 - 2015 on JSTOR.
Acta Archaeologica Available from 2001 - current on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier.
Journal of Egyptian Archaeology (JEA) Back issues available from 1914 - 2016 on JSTOR.
Palestine Exploration Quarterly Available from 2004 on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier.
Iranian Studies Back issues available from 1968 - 2009 in JSTOR.
Anatolian Studies Back issues available from 1951 - 2017 on JSTOR.
Iranica Antiqua Available from 2001 - current on EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Iran & Caucus Back issues from 1997 - 2017 available on JSTOR.

AABNER: Advances in Ancient Biblical and Near Eastern Research AABNER is a diamond open acess, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to rigorous, innovative, and ethical research in the fields of the historical, literary, critical, textual, and reception studies of the Hebrew Bible, New Testament, and cognate literatures; Ancient Near Eastern culture, history, and reception; Late Antiquity; Early Jewish and Christian studies; new methodologies in Biblical Studies; social scientific topics; comparative religion; and the Eastern Mediterranean.
American Journal of Archaeology (AJA) The American Journal of Archaeology (ISSN 0002-9114; E-ISSN 1939-828X), the journal of the Archaeological Institute of America, was founded in 1885 and is one of the world’s most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals.
Archaeology and Text Interdisciplinary by nature, the journal offers a platform for professional historians and archaeologists alike to critically investigate points of confluence and divergence between the textual and the artifactual. We seek contributions from scholars working in the ancient Mediterranean and Near East.
Asia Anteriore Antica Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Cultures Asia Anteriore Antica (AsiAnA) focuses on the variegated scenario of the emergence, development and crises of the ancient Near East cultures analysed in the plurality of their distinct and intertwining characters, languages, writing and literacy, administration and material culture, arts and politics, economy and trade, ideology and religion.
Birmingham Egyptology Journal Birmingham Egyptology Journal is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal available only online and free of charge. The journal offers a platform for the presentation of research relating to ancient Egyptian culture, history, and archaeology from the Pre-dynastic to Graeco-Roman Periods.
Egyptian Archaeology Egyptian Archaeology is a full-color magazine, published in spring and autumn, reporting on current excavations, surveys, and research in Egypt, showcasing the work of the Egyptian Exploration Society as well as of other missions and researchers.
ISAW Papers ISAW Papers is an open-content scholarly journal that publishes article-length works on any topic within the scope of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World's (ISAW) scholarly research.
Jerusalem Journal of Archaeology (JJAR) JJAR is a peer-reviewed online journal dealing with studies related to the archaeology of the Levant and adjacent relevant regions, from the Protohistoric era to the end of the Hellenistic period (6th - 1st millennium BCE).
The Journal of Ancient Egyptian Architecture The Journal of Ancient Egyptian Architecture is a scientific, open access and annual periodical. Its purpose is to promote the publication of research devoted to Ancient Egyptian architecture (domestic, civil, military, ritual/religious and funerary), from the Predynastic Period to the Roman imperial era, whatever the modern geographical context (Egypt, Sudan, Near East, etc.). The subject scope includes everything relating to construction, regardless of its original importance or purpose.
Journal of Ancient History and Archaeology The research area is the European continent and the Near East in the Greek-Roman times. The topics are: ancient history, ancient philology, epigraphy, papyrology, numismatics, archaeological material, archaeological reports, digital archaeology, archaeometry, reviews.
The Journal of Egyptological Studies (JES) The Journal of Egyptological Studies (JES) is published by the Bulgarian Institute of Egyptology. It gives Egyptologists an opportunity to publish new original ideas, new approaches, and data in connection with the language, literature, religion, archeology and history of the “place where our hearts live”.
Journal of Hebrew Scriptures The Journal of Hebrew Scriptures (JHS) is an internationally peer-reviewed, open-access journal established in 1996, to foster scholarly research on the Hebrew Bible, ancient Israel’s history, and cognate fields of study.
Open Journal for Studies in History (OJSH) The OJSH, as an international multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed online open access academic journal, publishes academic articles deal with different problems and topics in various areas of history (prehistory, ancient history, post-classical history, modern history, contemporary history, world history, regional history, people’s history, military history, cultural history, economic history, political history, intellectual history, history of science, history of arts, counterfactual history, comparative history, psychohistory, philosophy of history, historiography, historical methodology, critical theory, archeology, paleography, palaeoanthropology, history, and related disciplines, etc.).
Studies in Ancient Art and Civilization SAAC publishes papers in the fields of archaeology, art and civilization of ancient Egypt, the Near East, Greece and its colonies, Cyprus and Rome, as well as other, non-Mediterranean ancient civilizations, and also in history of archaeology, collecting of antiquities and reception of ancient culture in modern Europe.

The first two databases on this list are where you will find access to most of the journals listed in the "Important Journals from the Library" tab. The remaining databases will provide additional information on a variety of topics covered in the course.

Academic Search Premier
Scholarly and popular articles on a wide range of topics, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. A good starting point for multidisciplinary research projects.
JSTOR
Archival access to full text journal articles and e-books primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Full text articles and article citations across hundreds of humanities journals in archaeology, area studies, the arts, classics, folkllore, history, language and literature, philosophy, and religion.
Anthropology Plus
Worldwide indexing of journal articles and other publications in anthropology, archaeology, and related fields.
Project Muse
Full text articles from more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for articles, theses, books, abstracts, and patents from a variety of sources. Using this TCNJ-specific link allows for expanded access to full text.