General Reference Works
Reference works are a great place to start when:
- you are unsure what your research topic is or should be
- you need quick facts about a specific area of study
- you are looking for background information for context
- you are hoping to find additional sources
You can start your searches by looking into any of the major civilizations that existed in the Ancient Near East. Below are some influential ones:
- Early Sumer (3700 - 2330 BCE)
- Akkadian Empire (2334 - 2279 BCE)
- Ancient Egypt - Predynastic to end of New Kingdom (4700 - 1070 BCE)
- Old Babylonian Period (1894 - 1595 BCE)
- Assyrian Empire - Old, Middle, and New/Neo (2025 - 609 BCE)
- Hittite Kingdom - Old, Middle, and New (1650 - 1180 BCE)
- Kassites (1595 - 1155 BCE)
- Mitanni (1500 - 1250 BCE)
- Phoenicia (2750 - 332 BCE)
- Israel & Judah (1047 - 587 BCE)
- Aramaeans (1030 - 720 BCE)
- Neo-Babylonian Empire (625 - 560 BCE)
- Achaemenid Empire (550 - 330 BCE)
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages by Call Number: P371 .C357 2004ISBN: 0521562562Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East by Call Number: DS57 .C55 1995ISBN: 0684192799Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East by Call Number: DS56 .D5 2000ISBN: 0812235576Publication Date: 2000-03-30
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012ISBN: 0199545561Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East by Call Number: DS56 .O9 1997ISBN: 0195065123Publication Date: 1996-11-28
Handbook to Life in Ancient Mesopotamia by Call Number: DS69.5 .B47 2003ISBN: 0816043469Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Gods, Demons and Symbols of Ancient Mesopotamia: An Illustrated Dictionary by Call Number: BL2350.I7 B57 1992bISBN: 0292707940Publication Date: 1992-05-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: DT58 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195102347Publication Date: 2001-01-11
The Princeton Dictionary of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: DT58 .S55 2008ISBN: 9780691137629Publication Date: 2008-11-30
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: DT58 .E53 1999ISBN: 0415185890Publication Date: 1999-05-14
Complete Royal Families of Ancient Egypt by Call Number: DT83 .D63 2004ISBN: 0500051283Publication Date: 2004-10-06
A Companion to the Achaemenid Persian Empire by Call Number: Gitenstein Library E-BOOKISBN: 9781119071860Publication Date: 2021-07-30
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Iran by Call Number: DS266 .O94 2013ISBN: 9780199733309Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The Persian Empire : a historical encyclopedia by Call Number: Reference Collection DS275 .K5 2016ISBN: 9781610693905Publication Date: 2016-06-27
