More Image Resources (Open Web)
- Arab Image Foundation-22,000 historic photographs
-Covers the Arab world and diaspora - Archives.design-Open access archive of graphic design imagery by graphic designer Valery Marier.
-Digitized objects, courtesy Internet Archive, are organized by "their aspect in design."
-Objects selected for relevance and image quality. - CC Search-Indexes over 300 million images from 19 image collections
-Public domain images released under Creative Commons licenses for non-commercial purposes - Closer to Van Eyck: Rediscovering the Ghent Altarpiece-Thousands of high-resolution images of the Ghent Altarpiece.
-Results from Lasting Support, and Interdisciplinary Research Project to Assess the Structural Condition of the Ghent Altarpiece. - Eastman Museum-250,000 objects from the photography, technology, and George Eastman Legacy collections
- Europeana Photography-2+ million images from the history of photography
-Represents 50 European institutions in 34 different countries - Frick Art Reference Library Photoarchive-Approximately 1.2 million study photographs and reproductions of works of Western art organized in more than 40,000 artist files.
- Frick Digital Collections-15,000 works of art from Frick Art Reference Library
-Research documentation for 125,000 works of art - The Getty Open Content Program-99,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum located in Los Angeles
- Google Arts & Culture-Objects from museums around the world.
-See extreme detail in 1,800 high resolution digital images
-Create personal collections and share works. - The [72] Museums of Florence- More than 1200 pictures & detailed descriptions.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art (Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History)- Authoritative website about the entire history of art.
- Includes images with descriptive information, essays, maps.
- Search by artist's last name or style/period of your work. - National Gallery of Art: NGA Images- More than 20,000 open access digital images.
- Newspaper Navigator-Library of Congress (LOC)
-Taps into Chronicling America to search over a million and a half historic newspaper photos. - NYU Faculty Digital Archive- Digital assets from faculty of all disciplines at New York University.
- Includes Ancient World Image Bank - PikWizard-Copyright free image database
-One-fifth of all images, about 20,000, exclusive to site; goal of 1,000,000 images
-Strives to include images of people
-Attribution not required - Pixabay-Copyright free image database
-Download, modify, distribute, and use these royalty free images
-Attribution not required - Smithsonian Open Access-Download, share, and reuse over 4.5 million images (no copyright or other restrictions)
-Drawn from the collections of 19 Smithsonian institutions
-Released under a Creative Commons Zero (CCo) license - Web Gallery of Art-47,300 art reproductions
-European fine art images from the 3rd to the 19th centuries
-Incorporates artists' biographies - World Images- California State University IMAGE Project.
- Almost 75,000 images.
- Global in coverage.
- Includes all areas of visual imagery. - Yale-Van Rijn Archive of African Art- Primarily sculpture, from antiquity to the mid-twentieth-century.
- Approximately 180,000 images of African art.
- Focus on Africa south of the Sahara, including works in collections and in situ to the present. - Yale Digital Commons- Art, natural history, books, and maps, photos, audio, and video from Yale University's digital asset collections.
Guide Author
David C. Murray
he/him/his
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-5787-2609
Contact:
TCNJ Library,
Room 216
Room 216
609-771-3217