LibGuides: Artists and Artworks: A Step-by-Step Research Guide: Articles

Example Art Object at PMA

Mont Sainte-Victoire

Made in France, 1902-4

Paul Cézanne, French, 1839 - 1906

Oil on canvas
28 3/4 x 36 3/16 inches (73 x 91.9 cm)

E1936-1-1

The George W. Elkins Collection, 1936
Philadelphia Museum of Art

Browse Periodicals

Click here to browse a list of Art, Architecture & Applied Arts periodicals available from Gitenstein Library.

Find Articles by Citation

Search for a journal title.

This tool will indicate whether a known periodical (i.e., journal, magazine, or newspaper title) is available online, in print, or microform from Gitenstein Library.

Search for Articles

Search these databases to find articles published in scholarly journals, trade publications, and credible general-interest magazines and newspapers.

Best bets:

Art Abstracts
Gitenstein Library database
- Provides articles, abstracts and citations to articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
- Indexes some reproductions of works of art.
- Tip: "object title" AND/OR artist's name.
- Tip: Use clues gathered at the museum and Oxford/Grove Art Online as search terms.
more...less...
(1984-) Art Full Text provides citations to periodical articles plus reproductions of works of art appearing in those articles. Also includes some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Covers art and related disciplines, e.g., fine and applied art, art history, archaeology, architecture, photography.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) [1973-2007]
The Getty
open access database
more...less...
"BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007." Provides indexes and abstracts for art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles. Bibliography of the History of Art includes Repertoire d’Art et d'Archeologie (RAA) from 1973 to 1989 and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) from 1975 to 1989.
Humanities Full Text
Gitenstein Library database
more...less...
Relevant full-text titles include African Arts, Art Bulletin, Art Journal, and International Research Journal of Art & Humanities.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
more...less...
(Indexing & Abstracting, 1982-; earliest Full Text from 1994.)Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers’ Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.

Full-text journal archives:

JSTOR
Gitenstein Library database
more...less...
Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s. The premier full text, full image journal archive, JSTOR coverage generally begins with the first issue of a journal's first volume and is updated to within three-to-five years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Relevant subject collections include Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History, Film Studies, and Performing Arts.
Project Muse
Gitenstein Library database
more...less...
(Dates vary from 1995-present) Full-text access to thirteen scholarly art and architecture journals including African Arts, Archives of Asian Art, Leonardo, and Visual Arts Research.

Magazines and newspapers:

Academic Search Premier
Gitenstein Library database
more...less...
(Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women’s studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the “image collections” icon.
Access World News (NewsBank)
more...less...
(mid-1990s- ) Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. Access World News is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news. Access to some Spanish-language newspapers from the Americas are included.

Related databases:

Historical Abstracts
more...less...
(1954-) Abstracts of articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations of particular interest for historical research. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year over 20,000 new citations are added to the Historical Abstracts database.

Guide Author

David C. Murray

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

TCNJ Library,
Room 216

609-771-3217

Subjects: African American Studies, Art, Classical Studies, English/Literature, History, History - Primary Sources, Humanities, International Studies, Latin American Studies, Philosophy, Religion, World Languages and Cultures