FYS 161: Social Justice, Past and Present

There are four components:

CQ Almanac: Authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. Unique data on the voting patterns of Congress members provide insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive: A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

CQ Magazine: A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.

Politics in America: CQ's guide to American politics with authoritative information on each member of Congress and the district he or she represents.

(Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women’s studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the “image collections” icon.

(Mid 1980s-) A primarily fulltext collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes news, editorials, reviews, culture and history from 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish. (This is a VALE Database.)

(Mid 1970s-) A primarily fulltext collection of international academic journals, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, reports, papers and proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues. Free text searching and complete indexing are available. (This is a VALE Database.)

The publications covered by GenderWatch focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of disciplines including history. Like its companion database, Ethnic NewsWatch, it provides access to some primary source material (narrow results by Document type after running your search).

(1915-) Indexes and provides citations and abstracts from the public and social policy literature of business, economics, education, health, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Materials indexed are from all over the world and include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, conference proceedings, and research reports. Most records since 1985 include an abstract.

(1940 to the present.) Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education. Covers both books and 480 scholarly journals published in English, German, French, Italian and Spanish. The book reviews in the print version of Philosopher’s Index are excluded from the online version.