Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Reference sources for:
- quick overview of a topic
- fast facts
- suggestions for further sources
Oxford Reference Tools
Oxford Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the most extensive and authoritative encyclopedia for music. Also includes the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.
Note: there is a prominent “sign in” box in the upper left. If you see The College of New Jersey above that, then the database recognizes your computer as being part of the TCNJ subscription, and you have full access to the content. The sign-in box is for individual subscribers; just ignore it.
General & Related Reference
International Encyclopedia of Dance (online)
Authoritative information on all forms of worldwide traditional, classical, and popular dance, from all periods of history up to the present. Includes survey articles on countries and on topics such as costumes, lighting, and scenic design. Covers techniques, companies, genres, dancers and choreographers, works, instruments, steps, and more.
Oxford Performing Arts Reference (online)
Covers the general performing arts, includes Oxford's Companions and Dictionaries for Dance, American Musical, American Theatre, Opera, Opera Characters, Opera Singers, Shakespeare, and Theatre.
Oxford Reference Online
Over 1 million entries in 175 Oxford University Press titles (mainly subject specialized dictionaries and companions), covering the arts , biological and physical sciences, business and economics, history, politics, philosophy and religion, the classics, mythology, literature,