Database Spotlight: RILM
RILM is is the most comprehensive index to writings on music, including citations and summaries for books, articles in periodicals and books, and dissertations, Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Music Databases for Articles and More
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureComprehensive music bibliography, international in scope, that indexes journals, articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more. Each RILM record contains an abstract of around 200 words that provides you with a summary of an item's content. Abstracts are an excellent tool for quick evaluation of an item's relevancy to your research need.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseA comprehensive music journal database, international in scope, for finding articles on music performance, music education; classical, world, jazz, and popular music. Formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals.
Related databases
Go to "Articles" Tab on library homepage for more databases by subject, or see:
- Academic Search Premiere(Indexing begins 1984-; earliest Full Text from 1990-) Provides citations and abstracts to over 4,000 journals covering most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies. Approximately two-thirds of the articles are available as full text. Also contains images which can be accessed by clicking on the "image collections" icon.
Find Full Text
Many article records have the full text of the article attached to them. If you see "Search for Full Text" next to a article description in a database, don't be tempted to skip the article. Clicking "Search for Full Text" will search all of our databases, subscriptions, and catalog to see if we own that journal in electronic or print format. If we own the item in print, you can select "Send me an electronic copy" to have library staff scan the article for you. If the library does not own the item, we'll try to get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (click the request link). More info on ILL can be found at http://library.tcnj.edu/about-the-library/interlibrary-loan-requests/.
Subject Guide
