Tertiary Sources
New Jersey:
Folklife Resources in New Jersey by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKPublication Date: 1985This slim, dated directory is also available in print, General and Reference collections, call # GR110.N5 B37 1985. Use it to find archives, libraries, and museums that preserve the "verbal arts" of New Jersey including tales, legends, and myths; narratives and oral histories; and "regional expressions and local language." Google the name of a potentially relevant organization to find its current website. An example of the utility of this volume is that through it I discovered that the Pascack Historical Society (124) created a dictionary of New Jersey Dutch usage!- Historical Organizations in New Jersey: A Directory by Call Number: F131 .Q53 1983ISBN: 9780897430593Publication Date: 1983-01-01Another directory of New Jersey historical societies, the websites of which can potentially provide up-to-date information about holdings related to historical settelment patterns and dialect areas within the state.
United States (including New Jersey):
Directory of Historical Organizations in the United States and Canada by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0759100020Publication Date: 2001-12-04 (15th and last ed.)This reference work is also available in print, Reference Collection, call # E172 .D57. Entries for New Jersey begin on page 526.- The Official Museum DirectoryCall Number: AM10.A2 O4 (Reference Stacks)Publication Date: current ed. (2022)Published by the American Association of Museums since 1971, this classic reference work, published annually, provides information about museums across the United States and Canada. Organizations are listed alphabetically by state and then locality. There are hundreds of entries for New Jersey.
Dialects:
The Atlas of North American English by Call Number: PE2808 .L26 2006ISBN: 9783110206838Publication Date: 2005-01-01This classic atlas by the groundbreaking linguist, William Labov (University of Pennsylvania), is available on the Atlas Table, Reference Collection (1st floor), call # PE2808 .L26 2006.
Dictionary of American Regional English by Call Number: PE2843 .D52 1985-2012 (in 6 vols.)ISBN: 9780674205116Publication Date: 1985-01-01A digitized version with limited functionality is available here without a subscription.
History:
A Companion to the History of the English Language by Call Number: PE1072 .C56 2008ISBN: 9781405129923Publication Date: 2008-08-11
The Oxford English Dictionary by Call Number: E-BOOKISBN: 0198611862Publication Date: 1989-03-30(1150 CE- ) Documents the history of words in the English language including variant spellings, obsolete forms, combinations, derivatives, and definitions. More limited coverage of scientific and technical vocabulary, slang, jargon, and dialect. Meanings are arranged historically. Includes quotations from novelists, playwrights, journalists, scholars, scientists, legislators, politicians, diarists, saints, philosophers. Includes the full text of the 1989 Second Edition (20 printed volumes) and the 1993-1997 addition series (3 printed volumes). Advance release material for the projected 2010 New (Third) Edition is incorporated quarterly.
Sociolinguistics:
Handbook of Language and Ethnic Identity by Call Number: Internet Archive E-BOOKISBN: 0195124286Publication Date: 1999-04-01also available in print, General Collection (3rd floor), call # P35 .H34 1999
The Routledge Handbook of Migration and Language by Call Number: P40.5.L56 R68 2017ISBN: 9781138801981Publication Date: 2017-02-13
