LNG 372: American English

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies — CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

(Mid 1980s-) A primarily fulltext collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes news, editorials, reviews, culture and history from 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish. (This is a VALE Database.)

Earliest Full Text from the Late 1800s.) The premier full text, full image journal archive, JSTOR coverage generally begins with the first issue of a journal's first volume and is updated to within three years of the current issue. Allows keyword searching of the full text of all articles, as well as browsing of particular journal issues. Relevant subject collections include Art & Art History, Architecture & Architectural History, Film Studies, and Performing Arts.

(Dates vary from 1995-present) Access to the full text of more than 100 journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press and other publishers.

(Full text 1998-) Offered as a pilot project, access is provided to the full text of over 600 titles published by Elsevier. Coverage is primarily in the chemical, biological, and health sciences, but journals from the social sciences are also included. A green page icon next to the journal title indicates full text availability. (This is a VALE database).

(1966-)The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to scholarly educational literature and to ERIC Documents. This resource from the U.S. Dept. of Education contains over 1.4 million records for article citations and abstracts from education journals, together with links to many thousands of full-text documents (books, papers, reports, and more) from ERIC back to 1966. ERIC actively indexes more than 1,100 journals (90% peer-reviewed).

Introduced more than a decade ago, Google Scholar remains a favorite open-source database for many academic researchers. Google Scholar indexes peer-reviewed journal articles and other academic sources. It is well worth searching for linguistics topics. Tip: In Settings, associate your account with TCNJ to tap into our full-text journal finder tool.

(1963-) Indexes journal articles, book chapters, proceedings, working papers and bibliographies for literature, linguistics and folkore.

(1887-) The most comprehensive international database of psychology. Provides citations and abstracts from the academic, research and practice literature in psychology, and includes materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work and criminology. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.

(1964-) This venerable index contains abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including state and local history journals and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities. In addition to articles, includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields each year. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database.