LibGuides: LIT 499: Women on the Road: Reference Shelf

Reference Databases

Literature Online (LION) Gitenstein Library database One of the major draws of this databases is that it provides access to over 300 volumes in the Cambridge Companions series. Incorporates dictionaries, encyclopedias, and author biographies.
more...less...
(Dates vary.) Includes full text and abstracts to English and American poetry, drama, and prose from 600 to the present. Also includes literary criticism, author biographies, guides to major literary works, thousands of primary texts of poetry, prose, and drama, and Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary.
Literature Resource Center Gitenstein Library database Access Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Use the Gale Literary Index (link at the bottom of the database's homepage) to find more information about authors in printed Gale literary series. Looking for reviews? LRC is also a good review source.
more...less...
Literature Resource Center is an online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.

The Oxford English Dictionary by Edmund S. Weiner (Editor); John Simpson (Editor) (1150 CE- ) Documents the history of words in the English language including variant spellings, obsolete forms, combinations, derivatives, and definitions. More limited coverage of scientific and technical vocabulary, slang, jargon, and dialect. Meanings are arranged historically. Includes quotations from novelists, playwrights, journalists, scholars, scientists, legislators, politicians, diarists, saints, philosophers. Includes the full text of the 1989 Second Edition (20 printed volumes) and the 1993-1997 addition series (3 printed volumes). Advance release material for the projected 2010 New (Third) Edition is incorporated quarterly.
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 0198611862
Publication Date: 1989-03-30

Literary Reference Center
more...less...
(Date: various) specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community college and undergraduates. Includes plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories, author interviews, classic texts.
Middle English Compendium (MEC)
University of Michigan Library
open access
more...less...
(1100-1500) Includes an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary; a HyperBibliography of Middle English, which includes all the materials which are cited in the Middle English Dictionary; and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, a searchable corpus of almost 300 Middle English texts.

print only

Gitenstein Library E-BOOK

print only